Books In Bloom


Last weekend I was a guest author at the third annual Books In Bloom in Eureka Springs, Arkansas where I signed copies of my latest book, Fly With The Mourning Dove and also an earlier book, Wandering In The Shadows of Time. This garden party event features several best selling authors plus as many local authors as can be accommodated. The green lawn next to the Crescent Hotel is dotted with white tents surrounded by shade trees and flowers of all colors. It was indeed a privilege to be invited to take part.
Each author is allowed to do so for two years in a row, then must step aside so others can take their place. I was in good company. A couple of tents down Jeffrey Deaver signed books for a long line of fans. Sharing my tent was Suzette Elgin, a local author I have long admired. Down at the other end of the long row of tents was Dana Stabenow, the Alaskan author who sets her books in her home state.
One tent is designated as the reading tent and we local authors were scheduled to read and speak for 25 minutes there. Inside the hotel, the best selling authors held longer reading presentations. I hear it was SRO for Jeffrey Deaver. My friend Pat Carr, best known for her award winning short stories, read inside the hotel too. Catherine Coulter was scheduled to appear, but at the last minute had a medical emergency, so she couldn’t come.
This event is very well organized. In the center of the circle of authors’ tents is the book station where several volunteers and the owners of Sow’s Ear Book Store handled the sale of books. All we authors had to do was smile, look pretty and be ready to sign after the books were purchased. Many titles were sold out before the day was over.
The weather was gorgeous, about 85 degrees with a breeze across the mountains that kept us well cooled if slightly frowsy. I met and visited with old friends and new and had a wonderful time. This is a part of being a published author that is most enjoyable for me. The people we meet are fantastic.
My next writer’s event is OWLs, which is Ozark Writers League. It meets in Hollister, MO which is actually a part of Branson nowadays. We have a quarterly all day workshop where some 75 to 100 writers gather to meet and greet visiting authors, editors, agents, etc. It’s a wonderful organization which I have been a member of for 20 years, almost as long as its been in existence. I’ll have my new book there as well.
Will let you know who all I get to see and talk to.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in AR, book signingsd, Branson, Catherine Coulter, Crescent Hotel, Dana Stabenow, Eureka Springs, Jeffrey Deaver, OWLs, Pat Carr. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books In Bloom

  1. Dear Velda,Congratulations on your blog and on your signing event in Eureka Springs…so lovely and full of history. Both are sure successes. I look forward to reading more of your entries.Arletta

Leave a Reply

