Arkansas’ own unusual wonder


Coming up: Eight Random Facts about me since I was tagged by Susan Tweit, flower garden. First, Arkansas has it’s share of oddities. This photo is Monte Ne, an underwater coliseum built by Coin Harvey and covered by Beaver Lake in 1955. Occasionally the water level drops enough to reveal this rock masterpiece, as in this photo taken in the 1970s. Again last year our drought uncovered his showplace.
Here are my random facts:
1. From the deck of our house we see a creek named Sinkler and the Boston Mountains.
2. I have no formal education beyond 12th grade, yet I have at one time or another been city editor, features writer and editor of three newspapers.
3. When we were building our home in the Ozarks we lived in a converted chicken house and bathed in the cold waters of Sinkler Creek, women first, then men.
4. I wrote three novels on a Sears electric typewriter before acquiring a computer which was actually nothing more than a word processor with a six by six inch screen.
5. None of those novels were ever published, but I’m reworking the first one, Beyond The Moon, which I finished in 1986.
6. I met my husband when I was 14. We were highschool sweeethearts, and I only dated two other boys before marrying him 3 years later.
7. The Ozark National Forest is our next door neighbor and occasionally a black bear visits us.
8. I cannot think of another thing I would like to do if I could no longer write.
Okay, you’re tagged: Linda
Janet

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Beaver Lake, Beyond The Moon, black bears, Boston Mountains, Coin Harvey, editor, Monte Ne, newspapers, Ozarks, Sears, Sinkler Creek. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

