Ezine Article on Voice

Greetings one and all on this lovely March 1. Hope you’re all writing like mad. I recently posted an article titled Write with an Entrancing Tongue. Thought you might want to read it. During every workshop I host and wherever I speak, someone always asks me just what voice means. Often they think it simply means the voices of the characters. But, of course, it’s so much more than that. Our characters must each have a distinct voice, one so distinct, as Jodi Thomas says, that you would never have to use tags in dialogue, you could just tell who was talking. That may be stretching it a bit, but it’s a goal to shoot for.
Since I’ve taught several workshops of developing a voice and recognizing your own voice, I wrote an article and submitted it to Ezine Articles online. Here’s a link if you’re interested in reading it.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in articles, characters, dialogue, Jodi Thomas, tags, workshops, writer's voice. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ezine Article on Voice

  1. Donna says:

    Great article, thanks for sharing the link!

Leave a Reply

