Looking for a place to sell

What is today? Oh, yes, it’s Wednesday and we’re on the 13th day of blogging. It’s the end of the day for me, and also a deadline day for my weekly historical article. I still haven’t done the meme thing, or the name questions. Hope I’ll have time tomorrow for that.

Scanned a lot of old photos today as I begin my quest to get them all on discs along with identifications and explanations. These are photos I’ve run across doing research, most of which will soon be lost if they aren’t copied. They are in old newspapers. Some are not very good scanned, because the screening wasn’t done well and it criss-crosses the picture. Others are very nice. I’ve vowed to scan a stack of them each Wednesday when I write my column.

A book I had published a while back, several years in fact, has numerous old photos that I had copied. It went out of print recently and I’m wanting to get it back in print because I have so many requests for it. Not an easy task when it’s mostly photos.

When searching for places to sell your non fiction books about your area, don’t forget the State Parks. A new state park that just opened about 12 miles south of me has bought about 50 books from me so far because the books I have available are about the Ozarks. It’s necessary to register as a vendor first, but that didn’t cost me anything, just filled out some papers and received my number.

Have a great evening.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in books, history, newspapers, Ozarks, photos, scanning, state park. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looking for a place to sell

  1. zhadi says:

    What an interesting idea! It amazes me what everyone else comes up with for promotional ideas… I’m sticking with you guys!

  2. Helen Ginger says:

    Thanks for the tip. I know that I first became aware of CJ Box by seeing his books for sale at Yellowstone.

  3. Vivian Zabel says:

    I’m in Oklahoma where the state parks seldom have anywhere to buy anything, much less books. We are modern and up to date in many areas, but giving our own state a boost in the promotional area? Ha!However, I may contact the tourists centers, which are maybe 3 or 4 in the state. Thanks for the idea.Vivian

Leave a Reply

