Pushing the right buttons

The blog I wrote today to be posted tomorrow is up because I pushed the wrong buttons. And that got me to thinking about the things we do we absolutely don’t intend to do, and how we can make them right again. Of course the worst is saying something aloud that is hurtful. Hard to fix, right? But we all do it. The best thing we can do, is forgive others who do the same thing. In that way, eventually those words we said either in anger or by mistake, will be forgiven too. Does that make sense?

Of course, I find myself pushing the wrong buttons the most on the computer and telephone. Those modern gadgets befuddle me and as I do it wrong, I’m already saying, “Ah, shoot,” or worse, depending on who is in the room. This blog, hopefully will be posted Saturday if I push the right buttons, so I hope all will forgive me and not get too confused that my Friday blog is up on Thursday afternoon, dated August 15 8:15 PM, which I intended to be AM. And that’s the way of my life, as I’m sure it is yours too.

We’ve all made major mistakes and errors in judgment, so why is it that we worry so about it when it’s a human condition? If we all gave others leeway for their actions, then perhaps it’d be catching and soon we’d all be forgiving stupid mistakes folks didn’t intend to make in the first place. And the best part, ours would be forgiven too.

So that’s my philosophical thought for the day. Now back to pushing the right buttons, hopefully.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in blogs, buttons, computers, forgiveness, human condition, telephones, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pushing the right buttons

  1. An excellent Saturday pontification!Here’s to more understanding and forgiveness amongst us all! lol

  2. You certainly hit the nail on its head, Velma. Some of us think out loud and others are not so quick to forgive. I second Marvin’s statement: we should be more understanding and forgiving of others.

  3. Helen Ginger says:

    I agree Marvin. Shoot, if we weren’t understanding and forgiving, no one would stay married long!

  4. zhadi says:

    Jumping on the bandwagon and agreeing with Marvin. What a nice sentiment with which to start the weekend!

Leave a Reply

