The man and his horse

Wednesday I fussed about what I would write in my column, which is historical in nature and usually features families or communities from the past in our county. This is the photo I found that kicked off the column. How must this gentleman have felt about his prized white horse that he made sure he was included. His daughters are all dressed in their finest, as are he and his wife. They stand in front of their neat little log home, and then there’s the white horse. I learned more about this family, when they came to Arkansas, where from, and some stories about their Civil War experiences.

And all this because the photo so struck me I couldn’t move past it. I page through a vast collection of old newspapers, and hope one day to have my photo collection on CDs. I’ve begun the project. Only have a 25 year collection of this weekly newspaper that each week featured what they called a Scrapbook. Some of the photos don’t reproduce really well because of the screening, but this one came out nicely and will be featured in our newspaper next week along with my stories of this family and a few others related to them.

So for those who wanted to know how things turned out Wednesday because I left everyone hanging, this is the rest of the story.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Civil War, history, homesteading, horse, log cabin, Ozarks, photos, settlers. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The man and his horse

  1. Helen Ginger says:

    Very interesting. I see it as a tie to today’s world, when we take pictures of family standing next to the new car or even vacation shots next to something that will remind us of that time and trip.

  2. zhadi says:

    I like what Helen said about taking pictures next to a new car; I have one of my stepdad standing next to HIS new car and it’s very reminiscent of the man with his white horse. Loved the post!

  3. I just wish I lived where I could have a horse.

  4. How very interesting! Is the info about the family in the same issue as the picture or are you able to somehow research based on the info that is present?I once found myself mentioned in a small AK weekly – not by name, though. I went to visit my aunt and when the weekly paper came out, someone had noted that my aunt was entertaining ‘out of state visitors’. It was quite an intro to small town life – very different from Houston where my neighbors could host the next meeting of their coven and no one would notice.

  5. Charlotte, no the information was scant on the family in that issue. But if you could see my office. I have two walls filled with newspapers that feature a lot of history of the area, and I put them all in a data base a few winters ago, so I go there, find what issue I need, then pull it. They’re in date order. I’m anal.

Leave a Reply

