I love chicken, but this is ridiculous

If you’all don’t live in a rural area, then you may not appreciate this tale. I had to go to town today. Horrors. Leave my lovely, quiet woodsy retreat for town? Oh, well. I did pretty good until I started home and decided to stop at Wal*Mart, something I so rarely do it causes my family to faint when I do, and after I turned off the Interstate traffic balled to a stop in every direction. Nothing moved. Finally several folks who could turned off into a small strip mall, so I did the same, thinking I could exit out the other end and get out of the mess.

Wrong! No one was moving in that direction either. I finally made my way to the suicide lane because Wal*Mart was a left turn about a block down the road and escaped. It wasn’t until I returned home that I learned a chicken truck had overturned on the highway that intersects with the Interstate.

I know they have to haul those birds to Tysons where they . . . well, never mind, I’ll spare you that part, since most folks don’t want to know what happens before they grab that fried chicken leg or nugget and chomp down. This is not a very informative post, but it lets you know how we live, those of us who don’t live in New York or one of the other big cities. Guess who told me about the chicken truck? Our post master. I dropped in there to mail a book and he said he heard it on the radio.

Here’s a terrific blog. Check it out for a great chocolate recipe and some other pertinent information. Angel

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in angels, books, chickens, chocolate, Tysons. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I love chicken, but this is ridiculous

  1. This post takes me back. I grew up in small Americana towns where you knew your milkman’s name, your mailman’s name, all your neighbors, and your backyard was an endless magical playground of forest and meadows. Then came industry and population, Kentucky Fried Chicken and all the other fast food joints invaded, and that town is now a city with big malls that I scarcely recognize when I visit it anymore.

  2. I heard a bison snarled up traffic in a Chicago suburb. You never know about the animal population. I guess they’ll never figure out traffic lights.Morgan MandelHttp://morganmandel.blogspot.com

  3. zhadi says:

    An overturned chicken truck sounds like something that would happen in one of Joan Hess’s Maggody novels!

  4. Helen says:

    Wait a minute! Are you hinting that chickens don’t volunteer to become hot wings???I tell ya, the country is becoming urbanized. Even here in big ol’ Texas, the cities are spreading like my waistline. My little town used to be a bump in the road to the lake. We now have a humongous mall across the street from a big shopping center with annoying stoplights in-between.

  5. Ha ha, Joan Hess lives in Fayetteville and was once a member of the same writer’s group as I. The truck turned over in Fayetteville. So she might use it in her next book.

Leave a Reply

