Writing a book is easier

When challenged to write a blog everyday for a month, I thought, well, I write thousands of words everyday, why would that be difficult? I’m here to tell you, it is. There’s something about writing a short entry every day that is more difficult than writing half a chapter of my WIP.

If this is a journal, then there would be days when nothing happens except I do just that, work on my book, or a column. Other days, I actually venture out of the house and have something exciting to write, like the previous blog. But a chicken truck doesn’t turn over very often, especially not almost in town. Same with giving readers links to check out. There are many days I don’t do anything online but pick up my mail. At least, that is, before this blog challenge.

Surfing the web is often like getting caught in a huge spider web. There’s no way out and here comes the big guy to wrap me up for a later entree.

Today, we celebrated our daughter’s (and of course son-in-law’s) 36th wedding anniversary. It was wedged in before granddaughter had to go to work, grandson had to go buy school supplies, and at the same time we endeavored to surprise daughter and her hubby with a ready cooked meal and a few neat gifts. We bought her a gargoyle for her garden collection. He gathers sunlight all day and holds fire at night. Him, he got tools, as usual.

Came home a while ago to catch up on some writing, write this blog, which is probably only interesting to me, and prepare more “stuff” for next weekend’s conference where I’m speaking. Okay, so where in all this is there anything remotely interesting to anyone but me? It offers nothing of import, there aren’t any links of interest, the kids took pictures so I didn’t. At my age, there are so many picture albums in the house they have a room of their own. I’ve taken to putting pictures on CDs and never printing them out. More fun to look at on computer screen anyway.

My mother put every picture she ever took into an album. She also made albums for my brother and I. Who inherited hers? Why, I did, of course. If I started scanning today and worked until the end of days, I couldn’t scan all her photos. They go back to my great-grandparents. I’m grateful she put them in albums instead of shoe boxes, though.

In my work I speak with a lot of elderly people and urge them to make sure their collections go to a museum or to a member of the family who will treasure and keep them safe. A museum nearby has already asked for my entire collection and they’ll get everything but my family photos, which will go to my daughter.

I hope besides writing down your life stories, everyone also makes arrangements for your treasured photographs.

See how my mind works? I began by talking about how much easier it is to write a book than to blog every day and wandered about to family genealogy. Eight more blogs and then I’m going back to my old schedule. Mondays are for promotion, including blogging. Once a day is just too much for me, but it’s been interesting.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing a book is easier

  1. zhadi says:

    “Surfing the web is often like getting caught in a huge spider web. There’s no way out and here comes the big guy to wrap me up for a later entree.”Oh, so very very very true…

Leave a Reply

