A Labor of Love

As a writer, I seldom do holidays with the exception of Christmas and Thanksgiving. Today is labor day, and I’d rather be at my computer than slouched in a chair in the shade fanning myself. I began this past weekend by speaking at the White County Creative Writer’s Conference in Searcy, Arkansas at Harding College. It was a wonderful day with some 76 writers in attendance. Not only were they enjoying themselves, I learned from them as I taught.

My subject had been requested. It was The Romance Market Today, but they also requested a look at yesterday’s market. I have to admit I know more about yesterday’s market than today’s, but what with websites, it’s not hard to get caught up. As for the craft of writing the romance, that was the easiest part.

We had a grand time, sold a lot of books as well, but networking with all the writers and other speakers was the most valuable use of the time. Linda Apple, nine times published in Chicken Soup Books, spoke on writing creative nonfiction and building a platform, Dr. Fred Pfister from Branson spoke on writing the memoir and a professor at Harding closed out the sessions by teaching us how to read like writers by choosing words that mean the most.

When we returned, I received great news from a telephone call notifying me that my book, Fly With The Mourning Dove, is a finalist in the Willa Awards given by Women Writing The West to honor Willa Cather. This is a huge award and certainly jazzed up my day. I’ll have more information on the awards and categories later, but just couldn’t wait to break this news. It’s difficult to keep anything of such importance locked inside myself. I’m not sure when all the category wins will be announced, but since they didn’t tell me it was a secret, you’re hearing it here first.

Everyone take care if you’re traveling home today.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in awards, Chicken Soup, Fly With The Mourning Dove, memoir, Ozark Romance Authors, Willa Cather, Women Writing the West. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Labor of Love

  1. zhadi says:

    Congrats, Velda! That’s wonderful news!

  2. Helen Ginger says:

    Congratulations Velda! That’s such good news.

Leave a Reply

