Here I am accepting my WILLA finalist award from Jacque Boyd at the Women Writing the West Conference in San Antonio, Texas . . . and then I proceed to accept the award. It was a magic moment in which I felt transported to another time and place. This could not possibly be me up in front of all these talented women. A good friend helped me with an acceptance speech because I had absolutely no idea what to say. Her suggestion of a quote from Ayn Rand was inspired. I shall never forget either this day or the outpouring of sincere congratulations from all the writers in this group and those “back home.”

Hubby took these photos against an impossible photo op of brightly lit windows.

Here’s the quote:

“Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark, in the hopeless swamps of the approximate, the not-quite, the not-yet, the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved, but have never been able to reach. Check your road and the nature of your battle. The world you desired can be won. It exists, it is real, it is possible, it is yours. ~Ayn Rand, Russian-born American Author.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Lynn Carney says:

    Velda, my friend, looking good! I’m so happy to see these photos since I wasn’t able to be there in person. You truly earned this wonderful award. Enjoy!Thanks for the mention of my site. 🙂 I love this blog too.Lynn

Leave a Reply

