New Contract

We’ve been home from San Antonio a couple of weeks now, and things are settling down. I’ve signed a contract with Old American Publishing for my book about the lost communities of the Boston Mountains in the Arkansas Ozarks. No name has popped up as yet, still working on that. The book is going well, though. It’s fun gathering all the stories from interviews and research over the past 18 years and coming up with the right stories for this book. Each settlement must of course have fresh stories, not just the same stuff as the previous one. So many to choose from, though.

My earlier book of this nature, Wandering In The Shadows of Time, came out in 1994 and is still available. It’s been suggested I use a similar title, but I haven’t settled on anything yet. There will also of necessity be some new interviews and updates on old stories to gather, so I’ll be out and about putting those together.

Meanwhile, I wait to hear from two other connections made at fall conferences. They are looking at proposals as I write this. What fun to mingle with writers, editors, and agents and talk about the business today. And learn that opportunities are still there, many of them with small publishers who are filling the voids left by New York’s need to only publish million dollar BIG books, as if that’s all the public wants to read.

Don’t get me wrong, I have three manuscripts with New York publishers too. Might as well cover all the bases. My suggestion to you as writers, get your stuff out there everywhere you can. Write articles to build your platform, write a blog to stay in touch with readers, keep your website up to date.

Oh, that reminds me, I need to get on mine and do some work today. Monday is my promotion day, and I’ll spend all my writing time today updating online sites which include social networks, websites, of which I have two. One of my own, built for me by Authors Guild, a super organization for the working published writer, and the other built by Authors Den, which is a good place to have that first website because it’s so easy to build and maintain.

Better get to Twitter now, then on to my website and add some information and updates. Keep writing and don’t forget to network and promote online every chance you get, even if that first book isn’t out yet.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Authors Den, Authors Guild, networking, platform, promotion, Twitter, Velda Brotherton, Wandering In The Shadows of Time, websites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

