A writer not a computer expert

If I had two clones, perhaps I could learn to do all the things a writer needs to do to be an expert , but as it is it’s just me. And the older I get, the less of me there is to go around. I grow weary of trying to post a video online when I can’t get it done in an hour or more of trying. I tire quickly when I’m told I must learn to convince my computer to share files or copy and paste or, Heaven forbid, rip something. The only thing I’ve ever ripped is a seam.

Today I spent the better part of an hour trying to copy a video so I could post it online. First I was told that my media player needed a DVD something or other to even show me the disc that contained my video. So I went online to find such a thing. Finally did, then spent 20 minutes filling out forms to order this item. I downloaded it. Still can’t figure out how to share the video, though I did manage to look at it. Hmmm. I think I need more smarts. I’m a writer, for goodness sake. Why do I have to know all this other stuff?

And you know why I’m trying to learn all this stuff? Because I have to not only create fabulous stories, I have to promote them. Where’s the guy who’s supposed to sell my books? Well, it turns out he doesn’t exist. All those movies where the publisher gets all excited about this manuscript, turns it not only into a book but a best seller, I’m learning are just pure fiction. Lies!

My latest book, Fly With The Mourning Dov, won an award, it finaled in the WILLA Literary Awards in creative nonfiction. But I still have to keep promoting it to sell it. And there are two more books to write. Contracts signed, sealed and delivered. Where’s the time to promote that book when I have two more to write.

I love the Internet. I’ve done a lot of promoting there. Blog book tours, interviews, reviews, have all been posted. Had to learn a few more things to get that done, so I took time to do so. But is that enough? No, it is not. What else I’m hearing lately is that book signings are a waste of time. Or at least, that they don’t increase sales. I like meeting people and smoozing with them, and visiting with the book seller. But if those things don’t increase my sales, maybe I ought to be home writing.

Writing blogs is supposed to help, but I’m not sure they are. Don’t get me wrong, I’m really not whining, just trying to reason out why or how books sell or don’t sell. Write a good story. Cream comes to the top. Isn’t that what we hear from editors and publishers? Okay, so I’ve written splenty of good stories, why do I have to be a Public Relations person too? Oh, where is the justice in that?

Okay, so if you’re looking to become a best selling writer, perhaps this isn’t the blog you should’ve been reading today. On the other hand, perhaps you can tell me the secret to a best seller’s success.

I’ve got to get to work on my next book now, so should you. And let me know if you run across the magic answer to all my questions. Join me here next week, maybe I’ll have discovered some secrets of the best selling author. Pardon my play on my favorite writing book.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in best sellers, blog book tours, blogs, book sellers, book signings, clones, interviews, promotion, reviews, videos, Willa Award. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

