Summer Can Interfere

Sometimes my writer friends, especially those new to the business, ask me how I manage to write so many different things: books, articles, short stories, columns, blogs, etc. They tell me that something else always interferes with their plans to write. I tell them that it should be the other way around if they’re serious about their craft. Writing should interfere with everything else.

Pick a time when you’re the sharpest or can steal the time, then write something every day. Oh, yes, I hear the groans. Kids, telephone, cooking, cleaning, shopping, working. Sure. If those things are all more important, then forget writing. You’ll never become a writer as long as you allow everything else to be more important.
Right off, of course, family comes first. But, if they can’t give you an hour or two a day, what does that say for how they feel about you? Get serious.
Last week, for instance, I prepared and canned 48 pints of sweet pickles, spent a day in the Emergency Room getting a problem taken care of, swam every afternoon except that emergency day thing, cooked a noon day meal (he’s on his own for supper snack) each day, attended a weekly writing group doing my grocery shopping on the way, spent a morning on a research trip, usual stuff like laundry and cleaning, and still worked 4-5 hours each day at my computer writing. I’m not bragging, I’m just telling all you who write: it can be done. How you do it is up to you. No one schedule fits everyone.
Yes, I’m fortunate that I don’t work. I’m old, so the government sends me a check. I used to work, therefore the check. I know it’s more difficult when you work, it’s also more difficult when you have small children. I once chose to put my writing aside because I worked and had two small children, but it wasn’t because I couldn’t find time to write, it was because I did find time and after sitting up all night it was hard to get up and go to work and come home and cook and take care of my kids. Writing had as hard a hold on me as marijuana or cigarettes. So I decided to pack it up and wait until the kids grew up.
You may have to do that if you absolutely can’t find time to write or finding that time cheats your family. But once you make the decision to continue to write, don’t tell me you can’t find time to do it. You will find the time, even if it’s only an hour a day. And it should be each and every day. I take Sunday off because that’s the day I can be with my family. Kids, grandkids and now a great grandkid. And everyone needs to rest sometime.
But everyday after noon meal, I head upstairs for the computer and I write or do something connected to writing. Promoting books that are already out there, poking around for publishers who might want what I have, checking out agents, etc. And my family does not bother me unless it’s an emergency. They respect my space.
Until you can make that committment, then you’re really not a writer, you’re a hobbyist. And there’s nothing wrong with that if it’s what you want. So set out after what you want and get it. Perserverance is most important in this business. Have at it and you’ll succeed.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in blogs, books, columns, craft, family, short stories, Velda Brotherton, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

