November is Writing the novel month

I’m sure most of you are aware of all those writers who will begin to write their 50,000 word novel this month. I’ve decided to unofficially join all those involved in this endeavor and write a novel I’ve thought about for a while. If I can get down the bones in one month, I’ll be that far ahead in finishing it, which I expect will take me at least a year. I know the subject, but only have four characters in mind. None of the minor or secondary characters have come out of hiding yet.

In doing this, the object is not to edit a word, but write, write, write. It’s difficult for me to shut down my editor. Over the years I’ve had to edit most of my newspaper articles quickly as they are always on deadline. This exercise should be good for me.
I’m taking a story from my first unpublished novel, which is now dated, and working it into a contemporary story of my main character’s granddaughter. Grandmother will play a major role in the girl’s life. Oddly and wonderfully, this was suggested to me by a young writer at a conference a few year’s ago when some of us were asked to give a synopsis of our first book. When I did and said I didn’t suppose it would ever get published because the subject matter was dated, she came up to me after the workshop and made a suggestion. This goes to prove what I’ve always said. You can learn something new, no matter how much you may think you already know.
This young girl wasn’t published, but her brain went to work and came up with the idea that would involve grandmother, her lost love, granddaughter and her fiance. I wish I knew the girl’s name, I would like to let her know that I am finally going ahead with her suggestion.
If you are multi-published, have been in the writing business a long time and think you know all there is to know, take a lesson from my experience. There’s never a workshop or conference that I don’t learn something, usually more than one somethings, if you’ll pardon the twisted sentence.
Recently we attended The Chisholm Trail Book Festival in Duncan, Oklahoma. The crowd was small but enthusiastic and I didn’t sell one book. People are having trouble coming up with money for food and their bills, so it’s understandable they can’t buy books. What did happen, though? I made invaluable contacts. Several are interested in my books due out in 2010, they left me their email addresses so I can let them know about the books. A local bookseller came along and we exchanged information. Others were interested in the same subjects I am and we had great discussions. Still others passed along information that I can use in the future, and we all exchanged cards. So was I unhappy that I didn’t sell any books? Sure, it would’ve been nice, but I gleaned information worth more than the few dollars I might have made from selling a hand-full of books. Never discount these types of contacts.
You might think about writing a book in the month of November. Realize, of course, that you aren’t truly writing a book in a month. You are writing what will become a book after you add months and months of work to the initial “bones” of your novel. This is simply a way to kick off an idea and turn it into a book. Let me know how it works out if you decide to give it a try.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in book festivals, conferences, contacts, fiction, novels, Oklahoma, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November is Writing the novel month

  1. Good morning Velda, I am not writing a novel, but it doesn't I can't enjoy and learn from reading your blog. You are right, every place I go, or people I visit with do add to my life as a writer.

Leave a Reply

