E BOOKS ARE BUSTING OUT ALL OVER

With the announcement from Harlequin that the publisher has begun a new house for E books with a long list of genres, it’s easy to see that the E book evolution has begun. Take a look at what this publisher is interested in and check out Carina’s website.

I have no intention of beginning an argument over whether E books are a good idea or not, but only want to point out that digital books are coming. No old fogey can stop them. Authors young and old should be looking seriously at becoming involved. Children today are literally born with iPhones in their hands. My 3-year old great-grandson uses a computer and an iPhone with ease. What do you think he’ll be reading in a couple more years?
I’ve been writing for 25 years. The first five of those were spent on an electric typewriter. Then I bought a used word processor, called a computer in those days by those of us who had no idea what was looming on the horizon. For a long time I found it difficult to write with a screen in front of my eyes. A friend of mine said if I’d put a bell on my word processor so it rang at the end of a line, I might be able to produce better. But I hung in there and learned because it was clear to me that I would fall behind if I didn’t.
So, dear friends, this old broad fully intends to become involved in the E book revolution. I’m working now on preparing a manuscript to submit to Carina. One nice thing about this new publishing house is that they are looking for writing that might not be acceptable at traditional publishing houses. That means that some of our work that doesn’t fit any of those New York genres might well find a home at Carina, or some of the other E book publishers that have been around for a number of years.
For a long time I’ve said I was going to try to get into E book publishing, this time instead of talking about it, I’m doing it. And it won’t be long until I break down and buy a reader. As more companies go into competition with the best known readers, like Sony and Amazon’s Kindle, prices will be more affordable. The new “nook” is out and selling faster than it can be manufactured. Imagine being able to carry over 300 books with you in something smaller then one hard cover book. Imagine reading in the dark with ease, or changing the font size so that the print is easier to read. Those are just some of the pros of this new generation “book.”
No one is paying me for this, I’m a firm believer in keeping up with the times. And so should you be if you want to become a successful writer. Have to go now and finish re formating my manuscript so I can mail it off. Oh, by the way, here’s yet another perk. It won’t cost me a lot of bucks to get that 300 page manuscript to the publisher. I’ll just punch a couple of buttons and it’ll be on its way. I won’t even have to kill a tree and print it out.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Amazon Kindle, Carina, digital books, E books, Harlequin, nook, Sony, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

