WHY DO WE WRITE?

Have you ever reached the point where frustrations and disappointments are so many that you want to stop writing? We all have. At one point or another we may even tear at our hair and cry aloud, “Why am I doing this?”

If that happens to you, then try this: Walk away from what you’re working on. Wander into the yard, sit on the deck a while and gaze off into the distance, thinking about nothing at all. Then go back in the house, turn on the TV and watch one complete daytime show (nothing over an hour). By this time, if you aren’t itching to get back to what you were writing, then maybe you should quit.
Because writers write because they have to, they can’t quit, no matter what happens. I once worked at my computer with my arm in a sling, another time I lay in bed, ordered there by the doctor and wrote on a pad with a pen. And if you know me, you know I hate to handwrite anything. My brain moves faster than the pen and pretty soon I’m writing so fast I can’t read it. But could I stop writing? No, I couldn’t.
People often ask me how I sit down to a computer every day and write. How can I not? And leave all those people trapped in my head who are screaming to get out and have their stories told? Not likely. If you don’t feel like this, I suggest you reconsider your decision to become a writer.
Wrong Reasons to become a writer: Riches, fame, noteriety, glamor, rubbing shoulders with the famous.
Right Reasons to become a writer: To tell everyone’s stories, to meet the nicest people in the world, to learn more about yourself, to explore the universe.
This is short this week because I have so much to accomplish, and I know that’s what’s keeping my brain functioning. Happy writing.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WHY DO WE WRITE?

  1. Everyday, I ask myself this question, " Why am I doing this?"And everyday, I swear I am going to quit. For all my life I have fought the battle with dyslexia. I have come along ways. But, I love to write, to create. Writing is what I am about, or is it?

  2. Getting a topaz ring as links london jewellery jewelry gifts from better-half is no lower than an awesome joy. discount links of london bracelets Many ladies do admire such jewelry sparkling through charms links of london their fingers. If you may get to own one as gift, links of london silver watches you will definitely appreciate such beauty and elegance for high class cheap links of london necklaces type of jewelry. Those who know what the actual worth of gemstones will links london pendants certainly love to have one added into their collection.

Leave a Reply

