A GOOD TIME FOR AUTHORS

Today it’s difficult to get a book published the traditional way. Perhaps some writers should back off and consider newer, nontraditional publishing possibilities. I got to thinking about this after reading an article by Ray Connolly who has some ideas we might profit from. At least they are worth considering. This man is publishing chapters of his new book, The Sandman, online, up to a point. Then by October he will put the “rest of the story” up for sale. Read the article to get the full impact of what he’s doing.

I have a small back list of historical romances that I’d like to republish as ebooks, but the complications of doing so myself keep me from it. I don’t have the knowledge necessary and don’t want to spend months and months learning this technology. Connolly’s idea has given me one. There are plenty of readers out there who’ve never read my early books. Suppose I posted oh, say six or seven chapters online, then put the remainder of the book up for sale online. You too, might be able to consider something like this.
The times, they are indeed a changing. At my age, I’ll probably stick to the traditional way of submitting manuscripts to editors for publication, but if you’re young and adventuresome, why not try some of his ideas? Or better yet, come up with your own.
Another article gave me pause about the future of book stores in our country. Barnes & Noble, a bricks and mortar bookstore that has been responsible for driving most small Indies out of business, now finds itself in deep trouble. People are buying on the Internet, downloading to Kindle, or otherwise purchasing their reading material without going out to the store in the Mall. So Barnes & Noble is up for sale. Read the article, if you’re interested in keeping up with what’s going on in the publishing and sales world today.
Because most of us don’t have a way to distribute books should we decide to publish through a print on demand company on our own, our prospects are dim for selling even the prerequisite 500 copies to really make some money. And I do mean some, not a lot. But if you are involved in a business that sends you around the country, perhaps speaking or attending many conferences where you can make contacts and sell your “product,” your book, then maybe you ought to go for it.
While most publishers today don’t offer a good marketing plan, they do offer a few things that most of us can’t manage. Distribution is one of them, another is acquiring reviews by the use of ARCs (Advanced Reader’s Copies) After that, even with a big publisher, you’re pretty much on your own for promoting your work. Today, with the Internet, you can reach billions of readers, but you’re awash in the sea of others doing the same thing. So you have to do more than produce a so-so trailer and get a few online reviews and radio spots.
Prior to your book coming out, spend some time, say a summer, increasing your Google or search engine pages. You do this by posting blogs, using appropriate tags, posting short stories, articles, etc., on sites online that you can find by Googling them. Join several writer’s groups through Yahoo and Google and keep up with what’s going on so you can get in on anything out there. It takes work and time, but you’re investing it in your business. That of selling books after you’ve written them.
Sadly, we’re not just writers. We’re entrepreneurs in that we promote and market our product. Whatever you decide to do, I wish you the best. We writers are all in this soup together.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Barnes and Noble, blogging, Google, marketing career, Ray Connolly, Velda Brotherton, writing career. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A GOOD TIME FOR AUTHORS

  1. Getting a topaz ring as links london jewellery jewelry gifts from better-half is no lower than an awesome joy. discount links of london bracelets Many ladies do admire such jewelry sparkling through charms links of london their fingers. If you may get to own one as gift, links of london silver watches you will definitely appreciate such beauty and elegance for high class cheap links of london necklaces type of jewelry. Those who know what the actual worth of gemstones will links london pendants certainly love to have one added into their collection.

  2. 陳昆珍 says:

    人不能像動物一樣活著,而應該追求知識和美德............................................................

  3. Patty says:

    It is indeed a new world in publishing and since I have no grasp of the old world of publishing, it's kind of scary. I know I should do some more research on the subject because it's crazy to depend on an agent or editor (if I ever get one) to provide the best route for publication. I think I'll hire my husband as my contract negotiator. He's much better with the details than I am. I just want to write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

