LIFE GETS IN THE WAY

For all the years I’ve been writing, I’ve listened to nearly every excuse there is for not writing. I think the one heard most often is “Life got in the way.”

Writers, if you’re sincerely into your creative profession, that’s a significant part of life. At this very moment, I’m sitting at my computer writing. Blogging is writing. In the room next to me are two huge bags of Christmas wrapping paper and gift bags, ribbons and bows. Piled nearby are all the Christmas gifts I’ve bought for the past two months. Granted I spent some of my valuable writing time online shopping.
During that time, however, I wrote a short story for an upcoming anthology, two features stories for a local newspaper and four columns for another local newspaper. As co-chair of our huge critique group, I’ve also sent several group emails concerning our upcoming Christmas Party as well as worked on updating our membership list. Recently I was asked to be co-editor for a newsletter for our group, Women Writing the West, and I’ve handled about eight articles so far.
One week I had to reformat a manuscript to submit to a publisher.
Tomorrow I will post a blog for a writer who is involved in a blog tour for her latest book. There’s also that hour-and-a-half webinar I signed up for. Saturday my summer-long book tour in a four-county area will wind down at our local library at a Christmas Bazaar where I will display my newest books which came out in April and May of 2010. There’s also the two days spent at Ozarks Writer’s League where I learned more about my craft.
Life? Yes, it gets in the way, and we all know how busy we can be. But still, if you aren’t exercising your creative abilities, you’re short changing yourself. You want to be a writer? Then you have to write, read, network online and in person, promote, speak, attend conferences, and the list goes on.
We all can only do so much, and if you’re pushing yourself beyond your capabilities, then something has to go. If it’s writing, then so be it. You probably weren’t really ready yet to devote yourself to your craft. I can say this because I set my writing aside in my younger days because I found I couldn’t give enough of myself to a job, raising children and a husband if I spent the hours I wanted to spend writing. It could wait. And so it did. When I finally came back around to the days when I had the time, I had plenty to write about.
Friends told me I probably was a better writer for having waited until I had more life experience. Oh, there are plenty of young writers who are doing very well, but they have found a way to do what I couldn’t, and possibly what a lot of us can’t. Find your own way, decide what’s important and hang in there. Even today, my family comes first, but they have other pursuits than hanging on my leg yelling Mommy all day every day, and so I now have the time for my next love: Writing.
Yes, I’m busier than I ever was, but most of that busy concerns my craft. Let’s not even get into keeping house and cooking. We women seem to have a way of working that in no matter what. So don’t forget to write something every day as we countdown the days to Christmas and have a very Merry one.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in blogging is writing, critique groups, networking online and off, time to write, too old to write, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LIFE GETS IN THE WAY

  1. y-write says:

    Wonderful advice, Velda! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

