PUBLISHING TO E BOOKS

The more I learn about publishing my own work on e-readers, the more I need to know. One piece of information leads to others. So I guess what I’m going to tell you all who are interested in e-publishing your work is that you’ll just have to learn along with me, or get out there and dig this stuff up yourself. I’m going to share with you, but you might be faster on your own.
Because I have a back list of six published western romances, my goal is to get them all on Kindle, et al. I’ve learned that Kindle is the driving force for genre writing. There are places you can publish like Smashwords and Create Space where you can publish your work if you have Word documents available. Check out these sites for yourself to see what you’ll need to do to publish there.
Check out this one for lots of information. Also wouldn’t hurt to sign up here to be ready for what’s to come.
My plan, and I’ll blog about how I do this as I get to it, is to publish a small collection of short stories and give them away, to lead readers to my books.
For those of you who have books you want to publish to Kindle, but you don’t have a document anymore, you can get your book scanned by Blue Leaf. I bought used copies of all my paperbacks and will let them destroy (destructive) the books in order to scan them. They will also do a non-destructive scan, but it costs more. So while I’m getting my short stories ready to publish, I’m having the first two books scanned, which will take a few weeks, as I understand.
After the scanning, I will have to proof and edit the copy myself. Because I was a newspaper editor for eight years, I can do this, but if you aren’t sure of your own proof and editing prowess, you may need to get an editor for this. I understand it’s pretty intensive.
There are people out there who will format your manuscript and get it ready for Kindle, Nook, Upub, etc. I’m still exploring that. One place is recommended by J.A Konrath who is a best seller with his books online. Check this one out, but there are others too. Google them. My advice is to make sure whoever you get to do this does a good job. Ask for the name of an e-published book they have formatted that you can download onto your reading device and check out. If you decide to do your formatting yourself, I can’t help you, cause I don’t intend to try. Check out this blog post on formatting.
Some of the novels I’ve downloaded to read, especially free ones, are badly formatted and it’s annoying after a while. You don’t want to annoy your future fans, do you?
Now, let’s get back to publishing poems, short stories or short books on Create Space or Smashwords. I’m just beginning to crack this. As I understand it, the document should be saved to rtf to clear up all formatting problems before being transferred to a Word document. I don’t use Word, but do have a copy of the program because publishers, agents and just about everyone else does. So I create in what I’m most comfortable in, Word Perfect, then save to rtf, then on to a Word document. A rule: Do not use space bar or tab bar to indent first paragraph of sentences. Use the code in the program.
This is a lot to absorb if you check out all these sites. Maybe I’ll know more next time.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in ebook publishing, formatting for ebooks, publishing on Create Space, publishing to Kindle, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

