FOURTH EBOOK UPLOADED

Just before our power went out for nearly a week during the bad storms, I managed to upload two short stories under the title Outlaws and Glass Coffins. Both are longer than any previous stories. Used the same formatting, but I have been talking to several people who urge me to publish my novels to Kindle. Their reasoning makes sense. Kindle Apps are available for IPhones, IPads and various other readers as well as for laptop computers. And formatting for Kindle is a bit easier, I’m told, than going through Smashwords.

Another reason, of course, is financial. Smashwords takes a percentage on top of what is taken wherever your stories are sold (Amazon, Barnes & Noble, etc.) With Kindle it’s a straight deal. If you price within the recommended price range, the author receives 70% of all sales. It’s possible, though, to price at .99-cents to get sales rolling, then go up to your preferred price. At .99-cents you receive 35% of the sales. Some writers even offer their first effort free to get the ball rolling.
I, for one, am tired of writing for nothing half the time, and would think any full-length book I’ve toiled over, and especially already had published with a big New York house, is worth at least .99-cents, and that’s what I plan to do for the first week or two of launch. Then I’ll go up enough to earn 70%. As business people, we have to be smart. Much as I love to write, I do need to make something from the effort.
I’m now through six chapters of editing the first book of my back list which was scanned by Blue Leaf. I’m pleased with the overall results of the scan and am finding very few errors. It’s going well, and I look forward to beginning to format to Kindle within a couple of weeks. I’ll keep everyone posted how that goes as well as some links to check out and things to do to make it easier.
Check out The Story Lady for some great tips here.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Blue Leaf scanning, formatting to Kindle, the Story Lady, uploading back list, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOURTH EBOOK UPLOADED

  1. parmitaborah says:

    Dear Velda,your blog was very inspiring. I found your profile description very interesting. Your wish to be found gone while writing was weird and adorable at the same time. I was making a random search about being a writer when i cam across your blog. Found it very informative and will look forward to more posts from you. Keep it coming :_

Leave a Reply

