FULL LENGTH E BOOK IN THE MAKING

As of now, I’m working on a book cover for the first back-list book, originally Trail to Forever, which is now called Dream Walker, for reasons that will be quite evident to the reader. I had no control over my titles first time around, but as my own publisher, I do. To make the cover, I used Photoshop, which is a difficult program. I’ve kept this first cover fairly simple, then sent it around to my writer’s group for critiquing. Got some good suggestions, and as with any critiquing, intend to keep those I liked and toss those I didn’t. Though I appreciate each and every one.
I’m posting the cover as it is now here. Then when I finish polishing, I’ll put it up once more so you can see what I did and perhaps approve — or not. I’m not experienced in Photoshop, but think I’m going in the right direction with this cover. I can’t wait to get the book up to Kindle.
At last I found the time to edit the first of my back-list books as it came from Blue Leaf. Found very few errors, but one strange thing happened. After reading line by line and editing only the scanning errors, I returned to begin the actual reading for my own editing of the original and found an odd occurrence. Every few paragraphs there were spatial errors that were not there on the first read through. Looked like this concern—,ing. The dashes were one long em dash in the middle of the word followed by a comma. I can only assume these occurred or followed my edits. What must I have done to cause them? There were too many to have been something I missed on the first read through. They were all alike, only occurred in different long words. This means another complete comprehensive read-through of this long book. I wish I knew what caused this. They weren’t there on the first edits. My nightmare: suppose something else like this follows my current edits?

At any rate, that’s what I’m up to now, along with setting up the Word document for Kindle. I’ve decided to use Mobi creator as it’s said to be the easiest to get what you want. I have instructions from several sources for formatting for Kindle, and understand that all are worthwhile. I think it’s just finding what suits you best.
If I’m not happy with Mobi creator, I’ll go to one of the others, such as creating a Word doc, then saving as html, which is said to be an easy way to do it. I still don’t understand how to make hyperlinks, which are necessary for the Table of Contents (TOC) but I will keep checking that out.
For the first two weeks once it’s posted, I’m offering this first book for .99 cents. After the launch and those two weeks, it will go up to $2.99. I’m shooting for a launch by the first of July if I don’t run into trouble. Originally Trail to Forever received 4 stars from Romantic Times and a super review.
Following this launch, I have a three-book stand-alone series, also western historical romances, but without the touch of the paranormal. The series takes place in Montana beginning with the Gold rush at Virginia City, Montana, then into the railroad era, then to the rancher barons. I will probably space these out over several months time.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in covers with Photoshop, Dream Walker, ebooks for Kindle, paranormal western historical romance, Trail to Forever, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FULL LENGTH E BOOK IN THE MAKING

  1. You are a brave soul, Velda, and I really admire you! FYI, Lou is using Mobi and really thinks it is a simple program. She is just getting started with it for the house and if you have any trouble I'll bet she would be glad to talk with you if you give her a buzz. Good luck, luv, and I'll be sure and download that book in July!

  2. Thanks Betty for being such a faithful commenter. You can see the newest cover in my next post. Thanks for the info on Lou. I thought she was using it, but Dusty couldn't remember the name of the program she was raving about.

Leave a Reply

