Here’s the updated cover of Dream Walker. You can see the changes that were made from the original posted last week.

Working in Photoshop is quite an experience. Everyone I talk to tells me how difficult a program it is, and I’ve found that true. I can manage a simple cover like this one, but to layer on over images has so far escaped me. I’m going with this cover for the present as I finish the edits on this book and get ready to format it in Mobi Creator. I’ve decided to use that program because I’ve heard good things about it. You’ll find so many ways of formatting for Kindle that it makes your head spin. Look at everything you find and decide which looks the best to you.
Once you’ve formatted, please check closely before uploading it to make sure it looks good. Then take another look when it’s published to Kindle. You can do this by downloading Kindle for PC to your computer and reading it there. You can see if everything looks the way you want it to before settling. If you don’t like some things, fix them and re-publish. You can also upload a new cover at any time should you want to.
Mobi Creator is a free program which you can download. There’s also a manual that will help you. I’ve taken a look at this, but am still doing final edits. I’ll let you know what you need to look out for and any problems you may have with Mobi Creator and how I solved them, if I did.
Take a look at my other blog to see another book cover from The Wild Rose Press on my first book to come out with them, Stone Heart’s Woman. Like this one, it is a western historical romance steeped in the history of the Northern Cheyenne as they struggle to return to their home in Montana.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Adobe Photoshop for ebook covers, designing ebook covers, formatting for ebooks, Kindle for PC, Kindle formatting, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

