MY BOOK IS KINDLEIZED

I’m so jazzed I’m not sure what I’m doing. After preparing my manuscript in Word, which I’m very ignorant in, and going back and doing things like putting each chapter title in “heading 1” under Styles, using ctrl/enter to make a break between each chapter, I decided to give it a try.

Using CJ’s guide, which I posted a link to in an earlier post but here it is again, and following it step by step, my book and cover were accepted in Mobi Creator. This is an incredibly simple way to get your book up. I think I still need to learn a few things, like a TOC that has hotlinks. But I went ahead and put the book up. It looks as good as many I’m reading on Kindle, and better than some. I can’t believe how easy it was. I’m such a computer dunce.
When you have your manuscript ready, and remember to follow some of the do’s and don’t’s I published in earlier blogs, like proper spacing and how to check that, and forget about the paging that will show up on Word and make a hard break between each chapter. I know I’m repeating myself in places, but that’s because some of these things can cause your book not to convert.
Look at some of the Kindle books and prepare your copyright, dedication, title page with breaks between each section. If you want it on another page in Kindle, do a page break.
Mobi Creator is fantastic in the way it produces a prc file (that’s for Kindle) an html file (that’s where you can go and fix errors if necessary) and another I’m not sure what it’s for. I’ll find out and bring you up to date on that when I can. Remember, follow CJ’s step by step guide and don’t miss anything.
I can’t wait to see the book on my bookshelf at Amazon. I priced it at $2.99. Originally, this back list paperback sold for $6.99 in 1997, so just look at the savings for my readers.
Good luck. Sorry I can’t help anyone with images, tables, etc., inserted. Check out Amy Shojai’s blog. She’s doing a great one on nonfiction that doesn’t use Mobi Creator but goes directly to KDP.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in ebook publishing, ebooks for Kindle, publishing with Mobi Creator, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MY BOOK IS KINDLEIZED

  1. Jack LaBloom says:

    Congratulations, Velda. I like reading your posts and learning how you figured it out. Makes me want to try and get something up on Kindle.

  2. Jack, I hope you do try. It's worth the effort. Mine is still in draft stage and I'm so excited I can't wait to see it come up on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

