A TASK COMPLETED

There’s nothing more satisfying than setting a goal and completing it. Several months ago my decision to get one of my back listed books formatted and uploaded to Kindle was only a dream. I had my doubts I could accomplish it without paying someone to help me.

Thanks to so many others who are willing to share what they’ve learned, I was able to complete the task, including designing my own cover. It wasn’t easy, but thanks to people like Cait London, Amy Shojai, and “CJ’s Easy as Pie,” I was able to accomplish this myself.
Aren’t writers the most generous folks in the world? Since the earliest years when I was struggling to get that first book finished, writers have shared their knowledge with me. Over the years I’ve tried to do the same, and hope “paying it forward” has paid them back in some ways for all the help they’ve given so freely.
Back in 1983 when I was working on my first novel and writing newspaper articles and columns, I met the first writer who influenced my writing. Sadly, over the years I’ve lost contact with her. She was writing a romance, had been to New York to a conference and met some agents, and I was so in awe of her and her experiences. As far as I know, she’s never been published.
We began to get together every Saturday, at her place or mine, we both lived in the back hills of the Arkansas Ozarks, and worked with each other. Reading, brainstorming, anything we could do to help each other. We attended a couple of groups, but found no satisfaction there. She had a computer, I used a Sears electric typewriter. Her computer, a Kaypro, was no more than a word processor with a 6″ screen and two slots into which one inserted a program disc and a work disc. The printer was a daisy wheel and I could out-type it any day. Then she left her husband in the dark of the night, telling him she was coming to my house.
She left word she wanted me to have the computer, but I felt better paying him for it, and so I sent him $50 a month for a while, I don’t remember how long, and went to work on that fabulous machine. I suppose I’ve worn out ten or eleven computers since then, including the Mac I used when I went to work for a weekly newspaper in 1990.
During that time I met someone else who would have a lifelong effect on my writing life. His name is Dusty Richards, and neither of us could have imagined the excitement and experiences that lay ahead of us. Our critique group is in its 25th year and is turning out published writers. He’s now published over 100 western books, has won so many awards I can’t list them all here, but was recently voted by True West readers as the greatest living western writer. He’s won Spur awards among a lot of others.
Over the years we’ve supported each other through thick and thin. I’ll never be the prolific writer that he is, but I’ve had my share of successes that make me happy. This is a great life and I’m content with it. Meeting new people in the writing life is so enjoyable as is seeing old friends who have been around since the beginning of my career.
Not once have I ever had to make myself sit down to write. If anything I have to make myself quit at the end of the day. Sometimes there’s much more to do than I can get done in a day, a week or a month, but I keep on plugging and learning.
And that’s why I’m so excited to have produced this first Kindle book. I hope to have many more including some original novels and nonfiction that has never been published. My latest nonfiction book, The Boston Mountains: Lost in the Ozarks, will soon be available as an e book, thanks to my publisher.
I hope all my writer friends and all my readers can attain their dreams whatever they may be and enjoy life as much as I have.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Amazon Kindle, Amy Shojai, Dusty Richards, ebooks for Kindle, the writing life, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A TASK COMPLETED

  1. Isn't it funny? Writers are like dominos; each touch the next one and the next one and the next one and the ripples can go on and on as long as the line lasts, tipping in any direction, resulting in all sorts of events. You, Dusty…all of us through the years…wow.

Leave a Reply

