THE IMPORTANCE OF SOCIAL MEDIA

Ozarks in the fall, an enticing image now.


I recently received an email from an old friend who is having a lot of her books published this year. She told me that her publisher is urging her to get on Facebook and other social media and write a blog. He is even willing to help her get started. She wondered if I thought this was important.

That reminds me of the writers who bring this up everywhere I go. “I don’t have time for such nonsense,” is a common remark. Writers who don’t have time to promote their books to millions of potential readers around the world worry me. How do they think people can find out about them in the “millions of books out there?”
There’s only one way and that’s with a growing platform online. I’ve stressed this before on this blog, but not recently. Last year I spent three or four days a week promoting “In the field.” I sold a lot of books, but I was worn to a frazzle when summer ended. I made the decision not to put myself in the position of having to promote that way anymore. In fact, I’m going to turn down a publisher who wants me to write a book this winter. I can’t do that anymore. He’ll want me to do book signings and travel around promoting the book. And only rightly so.
My decision is to only write for E books from now on. Check here for two of my back list western romances available on Kindle. At my age, I can’t afford to wear myself down physically. I want to continue writing for many more years, but I’m weary of lugging boxes of books from one place to another. Loading and unloading them, sitting in hard chairs for hours waiting for a crowd to gather. I do love the process of meeting and talking to them, and I’ll miss that, but Facebook and emails and LinkedIn and . . . All those will have to do.
My advice to my friend? Learn to post to several online social media spots and write a blog. Do it all one day a week, don’t let it eat up your days you could spend writing. I like Mondays for social media, and only write my blog once a week. I think Google + is probably a must, the way it’s growing. It’s easier than Facebook and will serve writers much better. LinkedIn is also very good. I’m trying out a few more of these. One I signed off of after about a month when all they talked about was movies and tv stars and stories. It’s wise to test the waters first and if you get nothing unsubscribe.
Another thing I intend to continue with is attending two or three favorite conferences each year, if for no other reason than to recharge my batteries. Once in a while an editor will be there I can pitch something to. I have to repeat what I’ve told so many. Every book I’ve sold, I sold at a conference. And that’s 13 and counting. Not a huge number, but impressive enough. My latest book, Stone Heart’s Woman, due out soon from The Wild Rose Press, was sold at Ozark Creative Writers in Eureka Springs to an E Book publisher.
That conference is coming up the second week of October. Check it out here.
Check my other blog for the latest about a workshop I’m planning and other goodies.
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Google, Kindle back list books, Stone Heart's Woman, The Wild Rose Press, Velda Brotherton, writers and social media. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE IMPORTANCE OF SOCIAL MEDIA

  1. Good advice. I always enjoy your blog.

  2. Hello! My Name is Hannah-Beth and I'm a follower of yours. I've nominated you for the Lieber Blog award. For details please check out my blog http://theyoungwritersjourney.blogspot.com/ thanks 🙂

  3. Velda,I enjoyed your article and I agree that creating a blog, commenting on other writers' blogs and joining other sites, etc. is crucial these days if a writer wants to be published and sell her books – which I very much do!I especially liked your suggestion to set aside a certain day (or maybe specific time frame) to interact online. Self-promoting can eat up a large chunk of time and, really, what it's all about is our actual writing.

  4. This comment has been removed by the author.

  5. Thanks for the kind remarks from everyone. Hannah, I appreciate the nomination. I had a busy few days away from my computer, but am back at blogging and other online stuff today.

Leave a Reply

