LIZ SCHULTE SPEAKS OUT


I’d like to welcome Liz Schulte, a writer of things that go bump in the night.
Tell us a little about yourself Liz:
I am just a normal girl, nothing too terribly exciting or scandalous about me. I was born—it went pretty well, I think. Then I was raised in the middle of nowhere with very few people my age around. Those quiet country settings seemed to have started my imagination off on the right foot. I used to make up stories and always had a thing for scary anything. My best friend and I made up a Freddy Krueger-inspired in game in the second grade and used it to terrorize our classmates, not to mention the countless sleepovers we ruined by scaring everyone so much they had to call their parents to come and get them. What can I say, girls will be girls! Muahahaha! I developed a love for reading as well: loving RL Stine, Christopher Pike, and LJ Smith. It may seem like writing would have been a natural fit from all of this, but at the time I thought I wanted to be a lawyer. It wasn’t until I completed my undergraduate degree that I decided maybe law wasn’t for me. I took some forensic classes still trying to decide what I wanted to do—then writing finally came into the forefront.
Liz shares an excerpt from her latest book, Dark Corners:
Ella Reynolds knew from the first moment she walked into the old house someone or something was watching her. Waiting. Her husband’s violent murder sent her spiraling into a world of grief and isolation, but Ella isn’t alone. Who or what is responsible for her husband’s death is still with her. Darkness has engulfed the past year of Ella’s life. Everyday reality slips a little more between her fingers as she struggles to break free from her memories. She must look deeper into her past as well as the present to discover truth of her husband’s homicide. A string of uncanny events takes place and practical explanations run thin as Ella follows the terrifying road to closure. As the past and present come to a head, Ella must decipher who or what the murderer is before it takes her as well.
Many authors claim to have known their calling from a young age. Liz Schulte, however, didn’t always want to be an author. In fact, she had no clue. Liz wanted to be a veterinarian, then she wanted to be a lawyer, then she wanted to be a criminal profiler. In a valiant effort to keep from becoming Walter Mitty, Liz put pen to paper and began writing her first novel. It was at that moment she realized this is what she was meant to do. As a scribe she could be all of those things and so much more.
When Liz isn’t writing or on social networks she is inflicting movie quotes and trivia on people, reading, traveling, and hanging out with friends and family. Liz is a Midwest girl through and through, though she would be perfectly happy never having to shovel her driveway again. She has a love for all things spooky, supernatural, and snarky. Her favorite authors range from Edgar Allen Poe to Joseph Heller to Jane Austen to Jim Butcher and everything in between.
VB: How long have you been writing and how did you get started down this slippery slope?
Liz: I have been writing for a few years. I started writing because I had an idea and people who encouraged me to try. Without that support I don’t know that I ever would have considered writing–as much as I love doing it, it was always just a hobby for me.
VB: Please tell us something about your writing day
Liz: Well I work a normal 8-5 job then I get home and exercise, have dinner and I spend my evenings writing and editing until bed then I wake up and do it all over again.
VB: Do you prefer to write novels, short stories or non-fiction, and how do you choose what to write?
Liz: I prefer novels. I have written a few short stories but mostly my mind seems more geared towards longer works. Many idea that were originally going to be short stories once I started writing them turned into novels. I have an ongoing idea list and I write whatever story is talking to me most. I try to be very organic in my approach to writing.
VB: Do you have anything to share with other writers that might help them in their quest, be it publication or simply having a successful day at the keyboard?
Liz: I think all writers need to find a good, supportive, honest writing group to help you hone your craft. As for having a successful day writing I always find it helps to really clear your mind and get into your characters heads before you start writing. Normally running or talking about my book with someone helps me do that.
VB: What would you consider success for yourself personally in your writing career.
Liz: I would consider myself successful in my career if I build a loyal fan base. I don’t expect to become famous (that though rather scares me) or even rich. If my writing supported itself and perhaps even me someday I would be very happy.
VB: Where do you see yourself as a writer in five years?
Liz: Hopefully, I will still be writing only to a slightly larger audience.
VB: What do you like to do besides write? What are some of your favorite things?
Liz: I love to travel. I like TV, movies, games, and reading. Basically, anything pop-culture related. I am a horror movie junkie and total Halloween enthusiast.There is also nothing I love better than a long trip were I get to explore somewhere new. If I even made enough money from writing I would take a Route 66 road trip and see all of the fun attractions.
VB: Who are some of your favorite writers, and do you study their techniques or read simply for pleasure.
Liz: My favorite authors are Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, Oscar Wilde, Thomas Harris, Jim Butcher, Joseph Heller, Brett Easton Ellis, and so many more. I love to read. I am inspired by everything I read, but I don’t really pattern myself after anyone’s writing style.
VB: What are you working on now?
Liz: I am working on an urban fantasy trilogy. The first book, Secrets will be out in November. It is about a girl whose life is about to change because of the secrets people keep.
VB: Is there anything you’d like to say that we haven’t asked about?
Liz: Thank you so much for having me on you blog. This was such a fun interview!
Here’s Liz’s contact information:
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Dark Corners, Edgar Allen Poe, Liz Schulte, murder mystery, spooky, supernatural, thriller, urban fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LIZ SCHULTE SPEAKS OUT

  1. Claire says:

    Nice. Informative interview! Thanks for introducing me to Liz Schulte.

  2. Thank you for having me on your blog!

  3. Jack LaBloom says:

    Thank you for introducing me to Liz Schulte. Great interview, Velda.

  4. I always appreciate comments and hope readers will take the time to visit my guest's blogs, Facebook page and website.Again, thanks for reading this blog.

Leave a Reply

