INDIES, KINDLE AND OTHER STUFF

Last week a comment wanted to know about Indie Writers Unite. This is a Facebook group and you can search for it under Indie Writers. I mistakenly identified it as a list post. Many indie writers are posting there and a lot of good information comes up about independent writers. That would include those with small independent presses and thos self-publishing on E Books such as Kindle.

And speaking of Kindle, the all day workshop at Ozark Folkways, which I led, was a great success. Not only did those who attended learn how to format properly and upload their books to Kindle, they taught me some cool short cuts and gave me ideas. Long ago when I first began to do writer’s workshops, I discovered something wonderful. I’m never too old to learn, and I learn from those who come to learn from me. It’s amazing the things people know and can share if only we listen. Like my mother used to say, “You never learn anything with your mouth open.”

So when I get ready for my next learning project, I’ll consult some other people and see what they know. I want to make some trailers and I want to learn how to use the # on Twitter. That’s just the beginning. My big job now is to learn some cool tricks for promoting my books without spamming people to buy them.

It’s important, I know, that I share what I know with others on my blog and in my comments on their blogs. There are other places where I can share some of my expertise, though often I wonder just what that might be. I know a lot about Ozark and Arkansas history, but don’t think a whole lot of people care about that. I know how to research for regional history for books and articles. Perhaps I’d be better off finding interesting links online and sharing those.

At any rate, I’m going to try to do better in the future about sharing links here.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to INDIES, KINDLE AND OTHER STUFF

  1. mgmillerbooks says:

    Had a great time at the workshop. I always learn something of value from you, and for that I'm grateful.

Leave a Reply

