PROMOTION TIME AGAIN

I’ve learned in the past few months that one of the most difficult things about promotion is persuading my readers to post a review on Amazon. I’m guilty myself of reading a good book, then not giving it a review. Since most of my reading is done on my new Kindle Fire now, this means a lot of good books published to Kindle are going without a review from me.

So, because I’m feeling the pinch on my own Kindle books, it’s time I practiced what I’m preaching. From now on I will review every book I read and enjoy. There’s a clue in that sentence. Personally, I won’t give a bad review. The fact that I don’t review a book should be enough to tell the writer that it didn’t meet the standards for good writing and good reading. For more on reviewing to Amazon check out this article. It’s excellent and will help if you’re not sure about how to post reviews or reasons you should and shouldn’t.

Another thing I’m trying to learn is using Twitter to more advantage without making my tweets spam. You know the drill. Don’t spend all your time shouting “buy my book” on any of the social networks. Instead spend your time sharing information. It doesn’t have to be about writing. In fact, you should branch out to your readers. If they will read your book, then chances are they’ll read a blog post that goes into things you learned while researching that book.

Recently, I began blogging about How Women Won the West on my journal blog. My western historical romances are about women doing just that. By plucking up a character from one of those books and showing how she came to be where she is when the book begins, I’m hoping to get potential readers interested in what her role is in the book. I could also write about things I learned about the role women played during the gold rush, which is a backdrop to the Montana trilogy. Branching out I could write about building railroads from the east coast to the west coast, and how both men and women met the challenge of living, traveling and working during that era. Or women who worked ranches in those days.

Just because you write fiction doesn’t mean you don’t have tons of research material to draw from for your blog and FB postings. How did women make a living if their men had gone off to strike it rich? What if a woman ended up in a gold mining town, how would she survive? Ask a provocative question on Twitter and link to your blog or perhaps a site where you learned about women’s role in gold mining towns. Also link to your website and keep it up to date, not stagnant.

Make sure you like your own postings so they will pop up on Facebook and Twitter. I’m no expert at this, I am learning new tricks every day that will help my potential readers notice my books. I know one thing. You have to remain active on social networks if you expect to promote your books.

Oh, yes, I’m writing a new series and continuing to prepare already written novels for publication to Kindle. It’s a matter of scheduling and sticking to it.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone, and get back to work Friday. We’re writers and we love it.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in blogging to promote, how to promote fiction, promotion on Facebook, using Twitter to promote, Velda Brotherton. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

