MAKING SPLIT PEA SOUP AND WRITING

Recently it’s occurred to me that this business of being a writer is much more than writing. Have you noticed that? I’m sure you have, I just thought that was a good way to open a blog about what goes on in a writer’s life and how it affects what else we do.
For instance, this morning, I finished a pot of homemade split pea soup and put it on warm for dinner (that’s lunch to a lot of you). We here in Arkansas have three meals a day, Breakfast, Dinner and Supper. And yes, for the writer in you, they are all capitalized nouns. When I gathered recipes for my cookbook, Arkansas Meals and Memories, I recalled that in the good old days people ate much more than we do now. The reason it didn’t stick to our hips was there was corn to hoe, water to haul on washday, canning, gardening, sewing, chasing down a runaway mule and hitching him to the plow. Well, you got the picture.
As usual I’ve strayed from the point. While the soup was in one of it’s processes I made a pan of bran muffins. That’s what I have for breakfast each morning along with a cup of tea. Hubby does his own thing, thank goodness. With lunch on the stove, I carried a box of books that arrived in the mail upstairs to my office, sorted through the remainder of the mail, hit the email on my computer and answered several important letters. One asked for a long blog post, jpgs, etc for posting on Savvy Authors tomorrow. I’d sent them once but for some reason they were lost in the ether world.
Another email reminded me that I have to cut some 30 second views from a video made when I appeared on a television show so I can present at the Women Writing the West conference in Albuquerque this fall. They will be put on a DVD and shown as we talk about the dos and don’ts of interviews for television.
Now I have two blogs to write after which I will finish a project I began yesterday, putting together my presentation for a free conference our critique group will hold in March. I will speak on building your platform, complete with handouts on websites, blogs, etc., that will help writers learn how to do just that.
Those handouts will do double duty as I present two workshops later in the month on publishing to Kindle. I hope to include some promo information for those who attend the all-day workshops, if we have time.
Yesterday, I began my own promo campaign on my latest Kindle book. Images In Scarlet  went live Monday. As we’ve all learned, promotion is a touchy thing cause we don’t want to Spam our readers with daily pleas to buy our books, yet we need to let them know when a new one shows up. I finished doing all the formatting myself last week, and also designed a cover, but had to have some help getting it to come out the right size. Patty Stith, one of the wonderful writer members of our critique group, lent a hand and had it sized in no time by adding a red border that set off the design perfectly.
To top off the busy day, because we had snow Sunday night the Internet slowed down so badly that email was slogging and waiting on stuff to happen is a source of a lot of irritation. I try to have something at hand I can work on when this happens. Living in the country surrounded by Ozark mountains, this isn’t unusual. We are lucky to have DSL while a lot of folks around us still only have dial-up, so when it’s slow we must be patient and thankful. I thanked my lucky stars that I broke a cardinal rule not to work on Sunday and uploaded the latest book to Kindle because of the forecast of snow for that night. It went without a hitch.
I still have half a day left in which to do writerly work. If the snow melts off the steep driveway I’ll run to the Post Office and mail off a book someone ordered last week. Otherwise, I’ll finish these blogs then work on my presentations for both the conference and the two workshops.
One more thing. Had to haul water to three huge plants I have up here around my office. They like the sunshine from the south facing glass doors that lead out onto my little patio built by our daughter and her husband as a surprise one year while we were away. I can sit out there in the sunlight where no one but God can see me. And dream up intricate tales to put down on paper later.
So, when do I write? Hopefully the remainder of the week if I get these chores finished. There are two or three books lying around that need some editing, deeper editing or total rewrites and I’ll get to some of that if the creeks don’t rise. An aside: Did you know that means literally if the Creek Indian Nation doesn’t rise. That’s where it came from. Don’t say you can’t learn anything from my blogs.
So, tell me how your day goes. If I get enough comments, I’ll draw out a name and send the winner a copy of my latest Kindle book, Images In Scarlet. But I need at least ten comments to make it fun. Okay?
About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Arkansas Meals and Memories, blogging, cooking, Images In Scarlet, Kindle, promotion online, tv interviews, workshops, writer's conferences. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to MAKING SPLIT PEA SOUP AND WRITING

  1. A.D. says:

    I'm glad I'm not the only one who has days like that, Velda. Am about to have dinner/lunch now at 2.30 after endless interruptions into my trying-to-work.

  2. Gwyn Ramsey says:

    Love reading the excerpt. Also great cover.

  3. Velda, I may live in Washington, but my day goes pretty much like yours!

  4. You sound focused and directed. Busyness spelled another way is business! I wish I was there for some split pea soup.

  5. Lori says:

    My Day — well, I'm not a morning person, and CFS doesn't help. I drag myself out of bed between 8 and 9, and this time of years, I put real oatmeal in a pot of water on the stove at night, and cook it in the morning. So I make coffee (1 cup at a time — and only one) as soon as the oatmeal is cooked, and, after letting the dog out, then in, eat my breakfast and let her lick out the bowl (I use a dishwasher so don't worry about slobber!). Then I go through email. That can take between 15 minutes and an hour. It all depends. Since I've blocked a lot of nuisances, I don't get 100 or so emails a day anymore! After that, I edit what I wrote the day before (and right now, am editing some old stories), then before I know it, it's noon. Time for a dog-walk, weather permitting (and it mostly has this strangely warm and dry winter in ND), then eat fruit and yogurt for lunch. Well, no more yogurt; that's on my banned food list of foods that may be migraine trigger, and it includes many things I love, from yogurt to bananas, to cashews!. Then I rest for an hour or so — not always sleep, but like most people with CFS, I need some "horizontal" time every day. Then some quality time with my dog before she goes out (don't worry about her — she's very furry and this time of year, she wants to be out!), and then sit down and write for two hours. If I can. Then, supper (for both me and dog), and I'm pretty much done, unless I've thrown some clothes or sheets or whatever in the washer, then I have to deal with that. Although "done" may mean I'm sitting on the couch, it doesn't mean I'm not reading something that I think will be of use in a book, next or later; making a timeline for one of those "in vitro" books, and things like that. The dog goes out and in a couple more times, then between 9:30 to 10:00, we go to bed. Me on the actual bed, and the dog on the rug at the foot of the bed (although sometimes she pretends she doesn't need to sleep with me, and when I say "Time for bed!" she takes her 2/3 of the couch and pretends to go to sleep! sooner or later I hear the click of her nails, and know she's there, and then we can both go to sleep with no worries!) And that's my day.

  6. Lori says:

    Hope I didn't say too much; I left my entire day instead of just a comment — sorry!Lori

  7. Heidiwriter says:

    You are just a whirling dervish of a writer! LOL. But that pretty much sums up our lives, doesn't it? BTW, we always ate the big meal, dinner, at noon, growing up on our eastern Montana ranch, and supper was a lighter meal (sandwiches maybe) in the evening. But yes, we worked HARD physically to wear off all that good Montana beef and cream and whole milk from our milk cow! Not anymore!!

  8. wow, some great comments so far. We'll wait into the weekend, then I'll draw a name out of a hat for the book. Make sure you come back Monday or Tuesday to see if you were drawn so you'll know you won. I may not have your email address to send you the gift book. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. Great post with lovely excerpt and cover. Your heroine shares my granddaughter's nickname(stands for Aletta..19th century spelling of my name.)I've been working on revising my time use by setting goals for periods in the day.Cut down on internet use, espcially daily posts that I can get lost in.Thanks for your post.

  10. Julie says:

    Great post, Velda. One of my favorite things to do is make soup, and split pea soup tops that list! Love the cover of your new book. And oh my, you do really capture a writer's day!

  11. Hi everyone, One more day to wait for final comments, then I'll draw a name out of a basket to see who gets a copy of my latest E book. Thanks everyone for following and commenting. Another writing day began with a trip to deliver brochures for our annual free conference, the bank, and grocery shopping, then home to the computer. Happy writing.

  12. The winner of my book is Heidi. Thanks to everyone for participating. I think I have Heidi's email address. Gwyn, good to see you posting and active. Best always to you.

Leave a Reply

