CONFERENCING TO SELL

Attending the OWFI Conference this year was so enjoyable. After so many years, it’s like old home week, seeing and visiting with friends I only see once a year. Everything was organized so well, thanks to the president, Linda Apple. She did a fabulous job of seeing that everything went off without a hitch. Thanks also to all the volunteers who helped out. The pitches were so well organized by Jan Morrill and she did have lots of help from so many others.

I also enjoyed shepherding one of my publishers, Mark Stepp. What a lot of fun that was. We were able to get acquainted. Had only met once very briefly when I pitched to him and he took on the publication of my book, The Boston Mountains: Lost in the Ozarks, which came out in 2010. Recently he moved from Houston to Tahlequah, Oklahoma, and we’re glad to have him and Old American Publishing closer to us here in Arkansas. Isn’t it wonderful how many small publishers are taking up the slack in book buying? Indies are cropping up everywhere, it seems. If you, as a writer, haven’t considered this opportunity to get your work published, check it out. You’ll be happy you did.

Back to OWFI. All in all, this was one of my most enjoyable experiences with writers’ conferences since I started attending them back in …  uh, well, let’s not get into that. Makes me feel too old.

Now we’re all looking forward to another super conference, Ozark Creative Writers in Eureka Springs, Arkansas in October. I’m the contest chair for that one this year and will strive to do a good job there. Contact me for information. The website is under new construction.

Keep in mind how important networking is to writers. Not only to schmooze with other writers, but with presenters, editors, and agents who take the time to attend these conferences and help you with your career. Pitching books face to face often leads to sales of your work much quicker and easier than emailing or mailing out queries.

So look around and schedule at least one conference where editors and agents who might be interested in your book, novel or other project, will be open to pitches. See you at a conference somewhere soon.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CONFERENCING TO SELL

  1. Hi Velda! Guess I have you bookmarked and wow, flashback. Fled to the Sierra's, still live in Lincoln,Ar but all 5 of us came back home. We of the West never really blended well with the South, but the short time spent with you, Linda, Jan, Dusty, Hank, The Dukester! lol, – all of the group- was time well spent for me. Learned allot, but not close to enough. Bad student, exceptional mentors. Wrote another book- about 344,000 words. Actually I finished the same one as I started while with the group. (Not the Grandmother- Blood Cold- yikes). But here it sits stored in memory on my laptop- destined to the Dead Author file. Should have hung in there but wow, life as the outsider- "Damn Californians" lol, too much. But you folks were great.One of these months I have to go back. We fled- literally- with two trucks and a dog, then the wife flew out with one suitcase. It was suppose to be for a few weeks, but she quit her job, we found a house close to Lake Tahoe,and left our house running a hot tub at 105. So who knows, one Thurs in the next few months I might sit in on a meeting if still allowed. (That's if my house, cars, and stuff will survive unchecked out there until I can get back). Talk about an impulsive nature. Good book material for sure. Self imposed, 65 days of homelessness, hunger and poverty. But, we have our home out there and can always give up out here. But most likely won't. Anyway, say hi to everyone for me (then duck 😀 ) just wish I'd been more of a people person. Head trips will get you every time. I do read yours, Linda, Jan, and Madelin, blogs when I see them- but there's a fb war on and I can't keep up. wink wink… it's all a plan and tactic and I'm a sacrificial expenditure. ???- I know,… "What?" Dun't matter. All part of the game.Happy – Whatever is coming up!Your friendMike Harris2nd Place Winner of a Flash Fiction OWL Contest, Someplace Arkansas. And it's FRAMED! 🙂

Leave a Reply

