BE A FRIEND

We support each other

 

BE A FRIEND

Saturday Kristen Lamb came to the Ozarks and our group, the Ozarks Writers League (OWL) was privileged to share her expertise. I’ve been a fan of Kristen’s blog since I began the quest to learn about establishing a platform online. What she says about social media and being a friend, supporter, entertainer and all around good guy makes a lot of sense. We all hate spam and when we as writers begin to beg everyone we come in contact with, then we are guilty of spam as well.

As a writer, of course I want people to read my books. But her approach to reaching that goal is that we make friends first. That we offer assistance to those visiting our blogs and our Face Book page and Twitter.

So here I am, blogging on Word Press, where rather than write blogs about how to write, I’m changing over to offering, if not advice since that’s what us old broads usually hand out, at least hints and clues where readers can find all sorts of information. Kristen says pick a subject that we’re interested in and share some things about it that folks might want to know.

We had lunch with Kristen, and she is so enthusiastic we all caught the bug. Her mantra, We Are Not Alone (WANA) made me feel good right down to my toes. Her idea is that we as humans began by gathering in villages in which we supported each other.

As it turns out, this blog is still addressed to writers, which I wish to broaden soon, but I felt the need to praise Kristen and her efforts to bring us as writers together.

However, when I think of it, writers are only a small segment of people who can benefit by this idea. Suppose everyone began to support each other in such a way. We might gather in groups of artists, quilters, bikers, survivors, runners, whatever we might be and form that village of support that tells each of us, we are not alone.

I’ll probably putter around for a while, figuring out this approach to writing to a much wider audience than just my writer friends, so be patient and I hope you come back to check me out or even subscribe to my meager attempts to entertain, inform and inspire my readers.

That’s quite an idea you have there, Kristen. And thanks for sharing it with all of us at OWL and your vast reading audience.

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BE A FRIEND

  1. Joy Keeney says:

    Kristen is an amazing person, I was fortunate enough to meet her a couple of years ago when I attended the DFW Writers Conference in Dallas and took a couple of her classes on platform building. As a newbie to writing I would have to agree that having friends there to support you along the way makes it a less bumpy road. I was fortunate to have made 2 very good friends through a writing class we all took at the Fayetteville library. With their help and support I believe I have become a better writer. Thank you Staci and Rhonda.

    • Good to hear from you Joy, I appreciate your checking out my new blog. See you soon.

    • Staci Troilo says:

      Thanks for the shout out, Joy. I think all three of us have benefited from our friendship. As to Kristen, I’ve purchased both her books which have valuable information in them, and I joined her WANAtribe site. I’m starting to network with writers there whom I never would have met otherwise. I think there are a lot of writers who are genuinely interested in helping other writers succeed (Velda, you’ve been quite helpful to me), but I think some merely are saying that’s what the writing community is about but don’t actually do it. The trick is to find the writers who truly are interested in networking and helping and avoiding those who are only interested in self-advancement and spamming. I know recently Kristen had to block spammers on the WANA twitter stream because, despite her asking people not to do it, they were only concerned with their own promotion. It’s hard to build a platform when you have to screen your followers so carefully!

      • Hey Staci, Good to hear from you. Yes, we should all be careful not to become spammers. Kristen has some great ideas about how to do that through our blogs and social media sites. We’ll get it right yet.

  2. Bonnie K. Tesh says:

    Your blog entries are always interesting, enjoyable and informative, Velda. Kristen is animated and full of energy. It’s a joy to be a member of her audience.

  3. Love the banner of your latest books. You could ‘wallpaper’ the entire background if you had jpgs of every book you’ve published.
    I love working with other writers and it’s gratifying to have learned enough (much of it from you) that I can now help newer writers, but I think Kristen was correct about reaching out to a larger audience with our blogs.
    Besides, life strikes me as so funny, it’s difficult NOT to see situations to write about.

    • Hi Pam, thanks. I worried that the banner looked too much “in your face” with my books. I’d like to overlay the header, but what I tried didn’t work. Maybe I don’t have a header to overlay, I don’t know. Don’t have time to mess with it right now, though. Thanks for commenting. Life is funny, but it takes a writer like you to point it out well.

Leave a Reply

