SOMEWHERE IN TEXAS

Somewhere in Texas

SOMEWHERE IN TEXAS

Here I am, traveling to the Women Writing the West Conference in Albuquerque. That calls for us to drive through Texas, my favorite state with the exception of my home state of Arkansas.

Why do I really, really like Texas? Well, I have to admit it’s first of all the sexy cowboys. They are so polite, and they tip their hats, smile and call me Ma’am. I’ve heard lots of women object to being called Ma’am, but me, being from the South, know it’s a title of respect, and I for one like it, along with Hon, but best of all is Darlin’. When a sexy cowboy crooks his grin and calls a woman Darlin’, well, he’s on the way to a satisfactory day, or night, as the case might be.

The second reason I like Texas is Willie, Waylon and David Allen Coe, who produce some of the best country music around, which I enjoy immensely. Third, of course, is the state contains a little bit of every type of scenery. With the exception of Rocky-type mountains, there’s Palo Duro Canyon, there are the hills, the flatlands, and the pine forests. All in one state.

Finally, it’s the state’s history. Heroes like Davy Crocket and the rest of the courageous men who defended the Alamo, the men who fought to make Texas the largest state in the Union, till those upstarts from way up North came along. But we all love Alaska, too, don’t we? I’m not looking to insult or anger anyone here.

There are a couple of things that annoy me, though. One is the wind. Hubby got wound up in a rug going into the motel as an unexpected gust whipped it around him. If someone hadn’t come to his rescue he’d probably have been tossed off toward Kansas. My hair looks like I’ve stuck my finger in an electric socket and I’ve had to add an anchor to the walker to keep it grounded. All the trees here lean away from the constant southwest winds.

Somewhere in Texas we met Barbara who works at a Love’s Station. A great gal who was able to visit with us during her break. She agreed with me that the best thing about Texas is its sexy cowboys, then went back to flirting with my hubby. Guess she wanted one in reserve in case a cowboy didn’t work out.

We drove on the famous Route 66 for a spell as it ran alongside Interstate 40. I saw myself as a child in our 1941 Ford traveling West on that route. At night my dad parked right alongside the highway. My brother and I slept in the car and Mother and Daddy slept on foldable cots under a tarp stretched from the tops of the doors to the ground. Try that today.

Too bad I couldn’t talk one of those cowboys into posing for a photo. Maybe next time.

Some places we could drive on the old highway

Tomorrow we’ll go into New Mexico, which is also a beautiful state. Do you have a favorite state and why?

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in a writer's life, adventure, all day writer's conference, Arkansas, backroads, Texas, Women Writing the West and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to SOMEWHERE IN TEXAS

  1. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com
    I really enjoyed reading your post, you make Texas sound just plain delicious, well I have never been to Texas but I would like to visit one day. Take care. Betty

  2. Bonnie Tesh says:

    Hands down, Texas. That state is a country all it’s own. It has it all, except mountains. We lived there a while, smack dab half-way between Austin and San Antonio. It was a cross between tropical, and desert, with a little southern live oak trees with Spanish moss hanging from them. We lived at the foot of the Hill Country. Which is beautiful.
    My favorite time of year in TX, is April, when the blue bonnets, Indian paint brush, Indian blanket. and wild poppies are in bloom. It’s breathtaking. Thanks for stirring up happy memories, Velda. Oh yeah, those cowboys are a plus.

  3. Hi Velda,
    Penny Sidoli and I have been coming toward you on Hwy 40 out of CA and hit on Route 66 in several places…like Kingman and Gallup. We visited the South Rim of the Grand Canyon and today Acoma Pueblo…both are terrific, of course. We’re north of Albuquerque in Espanola and will go to Abiqui and Ghost Ranch in the morning. As we return to A. we’ll stop in Santa Fe to visit the Georgia O’Keefe museum….my message is, keep coming west for some spectacular country!
    Arletta

    • Sounds like you are having a great time, too. We spent the night in Tucumcari and are headed for ABQ slowly. Taking our time, won’t be at the hotel til Friday in time to take part in the panel. Thanks for checking my blog.

  4. Jack LaBloom says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip. That wind was pretty strong. I hope you hung onto to your stories. I don’t want to miss any of them. Great photos too. I want to see more along the way and keep us up to date on how it’s going.

    Velda, if you happen to see any interesting bars, please take photos for me. I need one for a story I’m working on. Not that you would be hanging out in bars, but I meant if you pass by one on your way to the book store.

    • Will give it a try. There’s a bar up north on 412 where we’ve hung out a bit years ago. I have some history on it, but can’t remember the name of the man who was hung there. Bullet holes in the ceiling tell of some rough times in bygone years. I’ve got pictures. I’
      ll try to post one on my blog soon for you.

    • Jack, you need to look at the website for The White Elephant Saloon in Fort Worth’s Stockyards district. Here’s the website: http://www.whiteelephantsaloon.com/ It’s not the original site from the 1800’s. but has the look. We’ve taken visitors there.

  5. Velda, I live in Texas, and it is my favorite state. Your home state has beautiful scenery, and we love traveling in Arkansas. Thanks for a fun post.

  6. I like your take on Texas, Velda. It’s a state I’ve never visited, except for the airport. Sounds like a state full of variety. Rolynn

Leave a Reply

