THANKS FOR TODAY

My mother grew this plant probably 40 years ago and I keep it still today. It blooms at night, but not every year.

At my age, there’s so much to be thankful for. That I woke up this morning heads the list.  Next comes family cause they’re all so good to me, friends who like me despite everything, enemies cause they keep me on my toes, the world in general cause it’s still turning.

When I was a kid I thought my mother was ancient in her 30s, couldn’t imagine her ever being my age, loved her when she took my side, loved her when she didn’t. Odd, I don’t remember we ever fought, but most certainly we must have. What I’m thankful for is that I only remember that we didn’t. I remember her lovely face and how she was an expert seamstress, made all my clothes even after I married, could cook better than anyone else alive and tried to teach me how to quilt with a patience, that believe me was exceptional. If not for her I would not have taken that first job on a newspaper that led to my lifelong career as a writer. I wish I had told her all this while she was alive.

My daughter is a better daughter and mother than I ever was. She supports my career, helps me at every turn, is always there when I need her, and as the years go by that’s more and more often. She’s in that sandwich generation, with a daughter of her own and a grandchild, who both need her often, yet she manages to help them while helping me too. I’m constantly thankful for her.

My friends are many. Their love and help at every turn, even when I’m exasperating to deal with, give me cause to celebrate my life each and every day. They always have a word of praise when I most need it. Without dear friends, we would all be less fulfilled.

My husband encourages me at every turn to be the best that I can be, even when it means he has to cook his own meals, wash his own clothes, feed the cat, make the bed, sweep the floor… the list goes on.

So I’d say there’s a lot for me to be thankful for during this week of Thanksgiving. Hope you have a happy and content holiday.

Want something good to read? You can find it on my Kindle Page.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THANKS FOR TODAY

  1. The idea of you having this plant that belonged to your mom is wonderful. Thank you for sharing this. Passing on something that blooms sporadically and beautifully from generation to generation is one of those symbols that is going to take root in my mind and heart and make beauty.

  2. Staci Troilo says:

    This is the time of year for looking back as we look forward. What you wrote is so touching. I’m sure your mother knew (and knows) how you felt, and the rarity of the plant’s blossoms just makes those memories more special. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

