The Next Big Thing Blogfest

 

Oak Tree Press Author Radine Trees Nehring and I at Books In Bloom, Crescent Hotel, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Recently a Women Writing the West friend invited me to take part in the Next Big Thing blog series. Find her post at: http://doniscasey.com during the week of November 19. These are the questions she asked me to answer:

What is the working title of your book? A. The Purloined Skull Creative isn’t it? Still looking for something a bit more original. Titles have never been my strong suit.

Where did the idea come from for the book? A. From a true occurrence during my time as feature writer for a local weekly newspaper. Actually several things happened that coalesced into this book coming to life.

What genre does your book fall under? A. This one is Romantic Suspense and I hope to make it a series starring the two protagonists: Cherokee Crime Scene Investigator Dal Starr who often walks in the spirit world to solve his cases, and investigative reporter Jessica West whose life on the wild side ended her career. They battle their way through murder and mayhem in a small fictitious Ozark county based on a real one. Hope no one figures that one out.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? A. This is always the most difficult question, because as a senior citizen, I remember stars who have grown old along with me. My Cherokee would be difficult to cast today as there don’t seem to be any young American Indians in Hollywood, and as for my reporter, all those youngsters are too skinny for my taste, and I’m sure Dal wouldn’t be attracted. And this is a romance, after all.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? A. Going to war with a Cherokee lawman gains Jessie only one solution, and that’s keep everything off the record.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? A. It has been requested by Oak Tree Press, an Ebook publisher who also does print books. Hope they like it.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? A. My books are long (90-100,000 words) and usually take me about three months or so to write the first draft. That includes some research as well.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? A. Oh, boy. I’d like to say Nora Roberts, but guess that would be lying, which we fiction writers do quite well. It’s tough, down and dirty and pretty sexy, and those are plentiful, so I’ll let my readers decide the answer to this question.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? A. Twin tornadoes, a man who lived in a cave and bones dug from under an Ozark bluff in 1925 inspired the writing of this book.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? A. Well, let’s see. A Cherokee who communes with evil and good spirits and victims of vicious crimes; a reporter who ruined her life and that of the man she loved and must rebuild not only her career but her self-esteem; an unexpected sexual encounter in the storage room of an historical court house and a battle over who gets the skull.

Dec. 5-9 Wilda’s Outlaw Free E book on Kindle

http://janmorrill.wordpress.com

truthsbyruth.wordpress.com

http://clairecroxtonromanceauthor.wordpress.com

http://lindacapple.wordpress.com

http://pamelafosterspeakerwriter.wordpress.com/

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Next Big Thing Blogfest

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Thank you for “tagging” me, Velda. This sounds like yet another great story. And it sounds like the characters will be your most fascinating yet. You and your muse are my inspiration!

  2. Pingback: Next Big Thing Blogfest | Jan Morrill Writes

  3. Velda, your book sounds fascinating…as always! A guy who lived in a cave and bones? Sounds like my neighbor.
    Thank you so much for all your encouragement, kindness and your firm hand. You’re truly an inspiration.

  4. Beth Carter says:

    What an interesting premise and fabulous characters. I cannot BELIEVE you write a draft in three months (including research). You put me to shame, lady. Congrats on all your success! I enjoyed this.

    • Yeah, Beth, but you haven’t seen my drafts. Sometimes one chapter will be all dialogue, another action and description. All I’ve done is get the characters through their Goal, motive, conflict stuff and have a beginning, middle and end. The second draft probably takes just as long, and I’ll do three or four more. I usually eat up 8 months to a year from beginning to end if I’m doing a 100,000 word book.

  5. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Blog Tour | Karen B. Nelson

Leave a Reply

