PUBLISHING TO KINDLE

Lilies on the patio

Lilies on the patio

People ask me often to write about the process of publishing to Kindle. To get everything involved in one blog that would remain short enough to hold readers’ attention isn’t possible. I’m sure that the holiday season is taking most of everyone’s attention right now. So I wanted to tell my readers that I will begin blogging about the process after the New Year has been celebrated and is well behind us. Then, perhaps everyone will be ready to sit still long enough to read and follow this process to a successful ending.

Last month I vowed that I would wait until the beginning of 2013 to start my next book, the second in The Victorians series, but a scene recently came to me in the middle of the night that was so vivid I had to write it the next morning. As it turned out, it can’t be in the beginning of the book because it gives away too much about the haunted hero, but it became the springboard to go ahead and begin the novel. So between writing my blog, working online at various sites to keep my books visible, wrapping Christmas gifts and planning Christmas Eve when the family will gather at our house, I’m writing my next book. The first draft of the first chapter is almost finished.

Thinking about all the projects I have in mind for the coming year is overwhelming. There’s Rowena’s Lord: The Victorians, two women’s fiction novels that need to be formatted to Kindle, a third to be finished, ideas for a couple of nonfiction writing books to post to Kindle. There’s that mystery I sent out a few weeks ago, that, if accepted, will be in the editing and publishing process during the first part of the year. If it isn’t accepted, I’m going to upload it to Kindle as well. Then there’s A Savage Grace, a horror novel that has been sitting with a publisher much too long. It was once accepted by an indie publisher that went out of business before it could publish the book.

I’m still seriously thinking about becoming a publisher of my own books on Kindle, which will mean getting a name that isn’t already in use, learning all the ins and outs of the publishing game, and then carrying through. This has occurred to me because I’m well known as a Western historical writer, but I have all these various books in different genres, all of which have been with agents as well as N. Y. editors who praised them but couldn’t buy them. With so many genres involved, it seems I should form a publishing house. I don’t want to use different names, and that may be a problem. Any suggestions?

Well, this blog seems to have become more of a conversation than information or inspiration or entertainment, which is usually my goal. Readers can only take away from it what the life of a writer is like. How complicated our lives are. How somewhat crazy we must be to continue pursuing a career in writing, especially when we’re 76 years old like I am. Sheesh, I didn’t have to reveal that, it just popped out.

Have a Merry Christmas and a Joyous and Prosperous New Year. I won’t be publishing a blog next week. See you in 2013.

A touch of summer Lilies with butterfly

A touch of summer Lilies with butterfly

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to PUBLISHING TO KINDLE

  1. Linda Apple says:

    Wowsers! You are one busy lady, and you don’t mention ALL the time you give to other writers. Put a big S on your chest my dear because you are SUPERWOMAN. 😉 Love you so much. Have great Christmas. Can’t wait to read your blogs next year.

  2. Jack LaBloom says:

    It’s a good thing you’re a young woman, Velda. An older writer couldn’t maintain the kind of pace you set for yourself. I look forward to your upcoming blogs on publishing to Kindle. Thank you for taking the time to offer helpful insights about writing and on how to get our work out there. As I write this I am looking at the sculpture Don carved for me. It stares at me whenever I am at my writing station. It’s a reminder of how fortunate I am to have so many wonderful and talented friends who are willing to share their knowledge and skills with me. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

    • Young? How kind of you. I feel the same about all the talented people I’ve come to know over the many years of writing. Thanks for commenting. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year too.

  3. Velda,
    I’m exhausted after reading about all that you plan to do in 2013. I wish you the best. Might I suggest that you stock up on vitamins? I know I plan to. I’ve got a long “to do” list for 2013 myself. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  4. Velda, you are an inspiration with your creative energy. I’m going through a down period right now and this post got my creative juices flowing a little. It’s not the writing that saps my energy, it’s everything that must go with the writing unless I want a stack of books in the back of the closet waiting for my children to throw them out. It’s good though to remember that the writing is the first priority. Always the first priority. Thanks for the kick in the butt.

  5. joyce4books says:

    Hello Velda — Mara counseled me to stick with my name, because it is unique. I bet yours is too! Otherwise, I use J.D. Charles Publishing, combining initials of Don & me, then our son’s name. Maybe something like that would work for you! I’ll be anxiously watching for your Kindle Report. My revised 1st book is about off to a copyeditor, and I hope to epub early in 2013. Thanks so much for all you share, & best of luck with new projects in 2013! — Joyce Lohse

    • I think that’s probably a good idea. Yes, my name is unique, a few Veldas but no Velda Brothertons or Velda Goodgion, my maiden name. I’m going to divide the all day workshop I did on publishing to Kindle into several parts and post them on my blog. Then I may put it all back together and publish a Kindle book. It will be my journey. Others may have done it differently. Thanks for commenting here. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

