Feed Him Grass and Weeds

When we were a young married couple, me 17, hubby 19, which was several eons ago, we pulled jokes on each other so much that we made April Fool’s day look like just another day. The best one I can remember pulling so surprised my husband that his face had this priceless expression I can only describe as “like he’d been goosed by a ghost.”

I was fixing dinner, and for those not of the southern mind, that’s served at noon around here. It was April 1, so what could I do? Salt in the sugar had been overdone. Besides he’d be on the alert. Staring out the window at the spring grasses just showing through the warming earth, it hit me. I grabbed a pretty casserole dish, ran outside, filled it with grass and weeds, anything green I could find. Back in the kitchen I put the lid on and slid it into the oven, without turning it on, of course.

Regular dinner preparations continued, but I kept those pots on the stove. When he came in to eat, I grabbed a pot holder, took the casserole of grass and weeds from the oven, set it on the table on a hot plate and sat down at my plate.

“Be careful, it’s hot,” I told him as I removed the lid.

“I’m hungry. What’d you fix?”

“It’s something new. I know you’ll like it.”

His gaze drifted to the casserole of grass and weeds, his eyes bugged, his mouth dropped open and I can only say that his eyebrows hid out in his hair somewhere.

“Try it, you’ll like it,” I said, laughing so hard by now he knew he’d been had.

We hadn’t been married very long, and he was still being surprised by some of the things I did. But I’d been the brunt of his practical jokes for so long and I had finally got one on him.

What’s the best April Fool’s joke you’ve pulled or had pulled on you?

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feed Him Grass and Weeds

Leave a Reply

