Romance blooms

Romance blooms

Spring brings thoughts of romance, and so in keeping with the blooming and greening, I’ve invited a romance author as a guest on my blog this week. I’d like to welcome Katherine Grey, a fellow author at The Wild Rose Press.

At the age of four, Katherine pestered her mother to teach her to read. From that point on, she spent the most of her childhood lost in the pages of one book after another. Soon she began writing stories of her own, populated with characters doing all of the things she was too shy to even contemplate doing herself.

A chance meeting with another author led Katherine to seriously pursue a writing career. Her debut novel, Impetuous, was released by The Wild Rose Press in August 2011. 

Katherine lives in upstate NY with her family though she threatens to move south at the beginning of each winter season.

I don’t blame her. I much prefer warm weather too. Welcome.

Q: Please tell us something about yourself and how you came to be a writer.

A: I once crawled out the bathroom window and dropped off the roof of our second story house in the name of research.  I’ve always loved books and prefer to read than do most anything else. I like words, how some of them sound when you say them aloud. I love how a good book can make the every day world drop away leaving the reader immersed in the writer’s imaginary world. I think because I enjoy reading so much it was just a natural progression to become a writer.

Q: Why did you choose to write romances as opposed to say, mystery or women’s fiction?

A:  I chose to write romance novels because that’s what I enjoy reading the most. I like reading about Happy Ever Afters. I read other genres such as mainstream, mysteries, and urban fantasy. I did try writing a mystery once. I thought I did a good job laying out clues and red herrings but apparently not because my first reader told me she figured out who the killer was after the third chapter. Needless to say, that poor mystery will probably never leave its home on the shelf in my closet.

Q: I see you have three books with The Wild Rose Press. What are some of the ways you market your books and your brand?

A:  I mail out postcards to friends and family announcing new releases. I also mail out promotional items to various conferences and writers who are looking for items to raffle off. I’ve sent bookmarks to a library that was looking for items to put a local writer table. I also try to guest blog on various sites, and use Facebook. Though I have a twitter account, I haven’t figured out how to make it work for me yet.

Q: What are you working on?

A:  I’m currently working on my first contemporary novel with slight paranormal overtones.

Q: Do you plot your stories or do you just get an idea and run with it?

A: I do a bit of both. My plotting consists of one to two sentence paragraphs for each chapter but other than that, I fly by the seat of my pants.

Q: Do you have a method for creating your characters, their names and what do you think makes them believable?

A:  Most of my characters have shown up fully formed, some I model after people I know. As for their names, I have a note book where I write down potential names that I come across in my daily life. Once I was sitting in the doctor’s office and the nurse called in another patient. I loved her name and wrote it down as a name I’d like to use some day. I try to give each character a flaw of some sort, which I think helps ground them in reality and makes them more believable and sympathetic.

Q: What is your creative process like?

A:  I listen to classical music while I’m writing. The music depends on what type of scene I’m writing that day. I jot down lines of dialogue, or snippets of scenes as they come to me throughout the day so that when I can get back to my work in progress, I haven’t lost all those great thoughts. I try to write five days a week because I’ve found if I don’t, I lose the threads of the story and then I struggle to get words on the page.

Q:  Do you think your personal experiences, people you meet, places you go effect your writing and how?

A:  Definitely. I think every writer draws from their personal experiences. I’ve used people I’ve met as inspiration for various characters. Once I was out to dinner with my family when suddenly a man said in a very loud voice to his wife, “What, do you think I’m an idiot?”  That one angry sentence triggered a whole scene right then and there. I furiously started writing the scene down on the paper napkins on the table while my family thought I’d lost my mind. LOL.

Katherine has shared a blurb and a brief excerpt from her book, An Unexpected Gift

Katherine's latest book

Katherine’s latest book

Blurb:

Known only as Lazarus to the band of cutthroats and thieves he leads, William Prescott will do anything to find his missing sister, even blackmail a fragile young woman into helping him. But he never plans to fall in love with this mysterious woman with a troubled past.

Haunted by the memories of war, Olivia St. Germaine wants nothing more than to live a normal life. But when her brother, a doctor, suddenly leaves town without a word, she is forced to use her medical knowledge to help an injured man who puts her life in danger. Can she keep herself safe as she tends Lazarus, or is her heart more vulnerable than she realizes?

Excerpt:

Removing her hat, she crossed to the dressing table and pulled thepins from her hair, letting it tumble down around her shoulders. She massaged her scalp, then ran her fingers through the thick strands.

“Watching you do that could give a bloke ideas.”

Olivia whirled around, her hand pressed against her chest. Her heart stuttered for a moment, then began racing like that of a runaway horse. She reached behind her and grabbed her hairbrush. As a weapon, it was the best she could do. She scanned the shadows for the intruder.

Lazarus lounged in her favorite reading spot, his feet crossed at the ankles while he rested his elbows on the arms of the chair. Situated as it was near the window, his dark clothing blended in with the shadows among deep blue drapery. He watched her over his linked fingers.

“Aren’t you going to ask why I’m here?”

She didn’t answer; the warning she’d received earlier replayed itself in her mind. Fear ran its fingertip down her spine.

“Shall I tell you then?” He stood with slow careful movements, then advanced on her until there was no more than a hair’s breadth between them.

She took a step back and banged into the dressing table, setting the small collection of bottles jangling.

“Afraid?”

Olivia shook her head. “Of course not.”

“You should be.”

Wow, Katherine, that sure leaves us wondering what will happen next. Sounds like a great book. Hope everyone will check it out. Thanks so much for joining me. Send Katherine some comments and questions and we’ll get her back to answer.

Visit her at http://katherinegrey.blogspot.com or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Katherine-Grey/265375626827267?sk=wall

Check out her books at:

The Wild Rose Press: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=905&zenid=19ddc2a69255daafde7f9df62f69e86e

Amazon:http://www.amazon.com/An-Unexpected-Gift-ebook/dp/B009Y8APVI/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1362610861&sr=1-1

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/an-unexpected-gift-katherine-grey/1114371314?ean=2940016394534

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Velda,
    Thank you for having me as your guest today.

  2. stanalei15 says:

    Great interview! I’ve jumped out my bedroom window as a kid, too. Second floor into about 4 feet of snow. Wished I’d been thinking about research at the time. Best of luck with sales on the book!

  3. I love what you do for your art. Jumping off the roof – wonderful!

  4. Great excerpt, Katherine! I fell in love with books at a young age too, and wanted to write since the third grade when I wrote my first composition about an imaginery dog I wished I had. lol

    Best of luck with your book!

    • Katherine says:

      Hi Susan,
      I’m glad you liked the excerpt. It’s one of my favorite parts of the book. I had an imaginary dog too when I was a child. The funny thing is once I became an adult, I’ve only had cats. Thank you for the good wishes. 😮

  5. Katherine, we have something in common. I jumped from a bathroom window once and found myself on a garage roof, naked and unable to get back in through the window. I wish I could claim it was all in the name of research, but I can’t remember why I did such a thing. Good luck with your writing!

    Dawn

  6. Oh, Katherine, nice excerpt! Like you, I’ve loved books for as long as I can remember. Good interview, ladies.

    • Katherine says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I can’t imagine not having books as a part of my life. I have a quote by Jorges Luis Borges posted at work that reads, “I have always imagined that paradise will be kind of a library.” I couldn’t agree more.

  7. margtanner says:

    Hi Katherine,
    Great interview. Yes I was like you, I started reading at a very young age then proceeded to writing, sad little ditties at first, but I soon graduated to short stories, then my true love – novels. I loved your excerpt, very evocative.

    Regards

    Margaret

    • Katherine says:

      Hi Margaret,
      I’m glad you liked the interview and excerpt. I’m jealous that you’re able to write short stories. I find them much harder to write than full-length novels. I guess I’m too wordy to get everything I want to convey in less than a hundred pages. LOL. Thank you for stopping by.

  8. Liz Flaherty says:

    I loved that excerpt!

  9. Ladies, what nice comments to Katherine’s interview. I appreciate too you all stopping by to read the blog. You may subscribe if you’d like. Thanks again, Katherine.

Leave a Reply

