Writing is Fun…Promo, not so much

I haven’t written a word of fiction for nearly two weeks now, and I’m fed up with it. Sick and tired of all the business that goes with it. And that’s not all, while I rant, let’s add those companies who can’t or won’t hire someone with any sense to set up their website. When I need to stop writing and do family business, I don’t want to spend three hours trying to get on a site and still fail. I’m not exactly computer illiterate. Pick up the phone and call is the next step. But in this age of personal computers and doing business online, why should that happen?

And so it goes

And so it goes

 

 

Then there’s Blogging, Facebook, Tweeting or Twittering, Google +, Linked In. The list goes on, and each awaits with their mouths open, hungry for what I might have to post. So, I get that done, answer emails, delete emails, follow leads to good links and sites and the day is half over.

Go Back? Crap.

Go Back? Crap.

Worse, decide to change some records of one of the places where I pay online, only to have them tell me that the user name and/or password is incorrect. Try to get a new one and I’m told that password does not match the one they have, or worse that I don’t exist, I never did exist and further more my security question answer is incorrect. I don’t know my mother’s maiden name, only they do and they won’t share it with me. Again, pick up the phone and get in line cause all their people are busy, but my call is important so please stay on the line.

The week has arrived for our final push. We move Saturday and Sunday. If we’re lucky. Looking at the boxes in the house, I think it’ll take two weeks just to carry them across the driveway to our new home.

Isn't this correct?

Isn’t this correct?

Why would anyone bother to move next door to where they already live? Good  question, and one I’ve been asking myself lately. Then I try to carry something up the stairs, or worse, limp up them ten times a day to go to the bathroom. Old people do that, you know, a lot. So, okay, the new abode is all on one floor, it’s smaller by ten feet all around. Not being a mathematician I’m not sure it that means forty feet less to clean or not.

Anyway, one thing I know for sure. If it weren’t for our daughter we’d never have managed this. She’s done all the work. I just talk a lot and worry more.

I did manage to upload The Legend of the Rose – a novella to Kindle and see the audio release of Montana Promises and set up three free days for  Images in Scarlet at Amazon. Today’s the last day for this freebie on my Kindle page and list three of my books–here’s one– on Ask David, a fantastic promotional site for writers, and write this blog. Whew.

And voila! It’s done.

 

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Writing is Fun…Promo, not so much

  1. Hear, hear! Though, I must admit, I’m beginning to like some of the promotion. Speaking and teaching and even, oh Lord, the blogging.
    Of course, I had a good teacher.

  2. Linda Sandifer says:

    Velda, I really got a kick out of this post. My sentiments exactly. I could say more, but it would probably end up being a rant.

  3. If you wake up and suddenly love promotion, I guess it might be time to worry? After you’re done with your move, maybe the tension will ease up some. I think I enjoy the promotional part of things a bit too much for my own writerly good. Balance is just so hard to achieve!

  4. Velda, I thought I was reading some my own rants. I’ve been through many of the same frustrations. I empathize wholeheartedly.

    • Good to hear someone empathizes, though a lot of writers feel the same. Funny thing is when I do a workshop on promoting I tell them to get over it and get to work. So, telling myself that and in a better mood about it this morning.

  5. sallyjadlow says:

    Really enjoying your “Images in Scarlet.”

  6. Chris says:

    I needed that. Thought maybe I was the only one who got locked out of my own accounts! Shall we form a club?

  7. I’m not really up on some of these social media sites, but doesn’t Google + have a place where members can start a dialogue? We could sure talk about this one.

  8. Thank you for liking “Pinto Beans” on my blog. I feel your pain re: marketing. I think I’m missing that gene, and I miss reading. I have books scattered all over the house, in the hopes that I will casually pick one up and read for a while. Not gonna happen. My editor’s hat appears on my head and I can’t enjoy the story without critiquing it. Nevertheless, I persist. Don’t we all?
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

