A Haunted House

Halloween Blogfest

Halloween Blogfest

Halloween, and everyone is writing something. Not being someone who does what everyone else is doing, I had a difficult time coming up with a blog for this week. Then I remembered that I did have something.

I signed up to write a ghost story and give away a print copy of my book, The Purloined Skull, to the writer of the winning comment on the post. So here’s the link to the story.  It’s not very long and you might win a copy of the book for taking the time to check it out.

This book has been through enough rewrites to fill a pickup truck with the discarded manuscripts. Oh, yes, I originally wrote it back when we printed out everything to send off to publishers, editors and/or agents. Nowadays, most of us work through the Internet and save a lot of paper and ink cartridges. But that’s a whole nother blog.

Anyway, I had an idea because of a story about a fellow who lived in a cave for many years above the town where the newspaper I worked for had an office. I began to wonder what he might see from that cave. And so was born The Purloined Skull, originally titled Bones something, or something Bones. But then so many books with Bones in the title came out, not to mention the TV series, that I decided not to use that at all.

I was looking around online one day and saw Edgar Allan Poe’s Purloined Letter. I liked that. You know, or maybe you don’t, titles can’t be copyrighted, but I didn’t want to use the precise title. Besides I didn’t have a letter in my story, which had changed so much from the beginning it wasn’t even recognizable as the same book. But I did have a missing skull. And from there came the title.

Then I was fortunate enough to be introduced to Christopher Allan Poe, who is a descendant of the familiar Edgar Allan. He read my book, liked it and agreed to do a blurb. You can’t beat serendipity. Now, I’m set to create a series out of the location and the two main characters, so when someone wanted to know the name of the series, I said “A Twist of Poe.” And then in talking to my writer’s group, about a title for the next book, about smuggled diamonds in Arkansas, I said I wanted to twist The Telltale Heart for my next title. One of the guys popped up with The Telltale Stone. Very good. So now, the series is off and running. I see The Raven as being the most difficult title to twist, but time will tell.

If you want a good read for Halloween, try The Purloined Skull. It’s dark, gritty and sexy and I know you’ll like it. And come over to the Halloween Blogfest at Long and Short Reviews to read my true ghost story and have a chance to win a copy of my book.

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Halloween and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

