I CAN SEE CLEARLY NOW

 

 

ImageMy eyesight has always been 20/20. Of course as I aged along came the blurred words when reading and I started wearing reading glasses. Then one day about six or seven months ago I began to notice that things were not as clear as they’d once been. I wondered why some of the TV shows looked more black and white than color. Lights had a halo around them. My world had become fuzzy.

 After some exams and discussion, I went to have cataracts removed. Doctors insisted I’d probably have to wear glasses when they finished, so perhaps I’d like to have near and far lenses inserted. Nope, I told them, you take these things off I’ll see like I always have. Rather than argue with a stubborn old lady, they warned me again about the possibility of glasses and I began the regimen to prepare the right eye for surgery, as it was the worst. I saw things double with that eye.

 Several people have asked if I would let them know what goes on with cataract surgery and how I came through it. The preparation is more trouble than the surgery itself. Four days before surgery I began to cleanse the eyelid nightly with special pads. Two days before the surgery I added drops to that eye and continued to cleanse it.

 The night before the surgery I was told not to eat anything after midnight and no clear liquids after 6:20. My surgery was set for 9:20. The nurse attached a heart monitor to my chest and back. The anesthetist attached an IV, a gel was added to my eye after dosing it with a variety of drops, one that dilated my pupil. Therefore I had to have a driver with me to take me home.

 The surgery itself is performed after a medicine the nurse called, ‘the I don’t give a sh*t’ was dripped into me. The only thing I saw during the surgery was dancing lights of all colors that continued until it was finished. No pain, no fright. Wearing a plastic patch over the eye that my daughter said made me look like an alien, we left for two hours. We had lunch and visited, then returned so the eye could be checked to make sure the pressure was okay.

Image

 After that it’s a matter of a strict schedule of eye drops, including antibiotics for a week, then a follow up, then the scheduling of the other eye a week after that. I tested out 20/20, which surprised everyone. Old ladies, I guess are supposed to need glasses. I will continue to wear reading glasses, but my distance vision has improved 100%. Glad I didn’t spend the money for the distant and near lenses. Insurance only pays for the cataract removal, so check your insurance if you want to opt for the near and far lenses. I know a lot of people who have done that and they are very happy they no longer have to wear glasses.

 If you’ve stuck with this post to the end, and want to comment on your experiences with this surgery, feel free. 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I CAN SEE CLEARLY NOW

  1. I go in for the very same surgeries the first (and third) week in December. Soooo glad everything went well for you. As usual, you give me courage.

  2. Lori Ericson says:

    I haven’t experienced that, but I’m so pleased yours came out so well!

  3. Hello Velda 🙂 I finally made it here! Not sure how it works exactly, but finding out as I go.
    So glad you continue to recover well from your surgery. Pam, you will be fine too 😉

Leave a Reply

