IT’S FICTION DUMMY

Sasquatch

Sasquatch

Everyone knows there are no vampires, it’s doubtful that sasquatch exists, what about Native American stories about windego, skinwalkers or shapeshifters? Who makes up these creatures? Why, writers do. We create such fantasy figures. We don’t have anything to back up their existence.

And thus the shapeshifter in my book, Wolf Song, was created by me. There don’t seem to be any Cheyenne shapeshifter legends, or none that I could find. Most shapeshifter legends are about evil creatures, and I wanted a good and helpful one. So I made up my shapeshifter, where he came from, what his reason for being is. This is fantasy.

Everything about the gray wolf restoration program, its results and effect on the ranchers is

wolf

wolf

true, based on a ton of research. There’s a big difference in truth and fantasy, and most readers recognize it immediately. Dan Brown has done a fine job of mixing truth (reality) with myth (fiction). His novels are enjoyed by millions.

Now I don’t dream of being enjoyed by millions, but I would hope to have a following of faithful readers who like the kind of stories I write. Wolf Song may be the only paranormal mystery romance I ever write, but I got to thinking about my hero, a Cheyenne shapeshifter, and decided I’d better clear up a few things.

As a culture we are accustomed to movies and books that have no basis in fact. Wild and crazy events take place, entertain us, make us gasp with horror, cry out with disgust, yet we go back for more and more. And it’s all lies, folks. Very rarely based on even a modicum of reality.

spaceships

spaceships

Batman can’t fly, James Bond can die, spaceships can’t really go into outer space, as was sadly proven only recently, those guys in Fast and Furious can’t really drive their cars like in the movies, but don’t we love watching all these fantastic tales, and reading stories that excite us?

So, yes, do research, base your stories on reality if you wish, make sure your history is correct, unless of course you’re writing about a dystopian world or something like it. I have a book about a demon who possesses a normal, ordinary woman. Good grief, of course that couldn’t happen.

Or could it?demon

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to IT’S FICTION DUMMY

  1. Jack LaBloom says:

    Hi Velda,

    Where did you get that drawing of the Sasquatch? I need one for one of my short stories.

    Thank you for your help.

    Best regards, Jim

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I think a strong dose of reality and truth, in any story, is the key to making the incredible, that may also be within it, seem more credible 🙂 In my opinion.

  3. cjfosdick says:

    You are a stitch, Velda! I’m looking for a Sioux or Native American legend that might explain time travel or a “witch woman” who could do that– or make a man who loves another fall in love with her, too. Have you come across anything like this in your research? I like to stick to facts, but will make some up if I can’t find an actual legend. I also need to do some research on wolves in Wyoming, circa 1886. ( I like to do my research as I am ready for it.) Any advice?

  4. I don’t recall running across anything concerning time travel in Native American Lore. Moving from place to place I’ve seen. I would imagine you could make a potion that would handle the love angle. There is a lot of info on gray wolves online, their history etc., Just google gray wolves in Wyoming and you’ll have plenty to work with. Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog.

Leave a Reply

