Attending Ozarks Writers League

Writing a blog about an exciting writer’s gathering such as Ozarks Writers League Saturday is a challenge. Most has already been said on Facebook pages, but some of my readers may have missed some of the photos and comments.

Gathering and networking with my peers is one of my favorite things to do, but you wouldn’t know that because I spend most of my time in my office writing or on the deck dreaming up new scenes or improving the older ones.

Seeing Rhonda del Boccio win first prize in photography was particularly exciting, since she is legally blind. Teaches us all a valuable lesson, doesn’t it? No matter what you think you can’t do, get out there and do it anyway.

I went over to Branson with Alice White. It was her first OWL meeting and she joined before the day was out. We had a great time. I was able to attend because of her help as well as Robin Cowan’s, who pushed me wherever I had to go, fetched and carried for me and was his normal sweet self. We didn’t go to the Friday night event, but I understand it was a whopping success.

Isn’t Pamela Foster a whiz at helpful critiquing of manuscripts? And Karen Nelson, OWL’s current president, did a great job of bringing off a fund raising auction. Some really super buys brought in needed money to pay good speakers for the coming year.

This type of networking is so important to writers, editors, publishers and artists of all types. Not only do I always learn something new, I meet someone who never heard of my books, hopefully gaining a new reader, or at least someone curious enough to give them a try. After all, promotion is something we all need to do, whether we like it or not.

The most fun part of such a gathering is seeing old friends I haven’t met up with since the last meeting I was able to attend. Catch my interview here when Karen Nelson asks me some penetrating questions and I try to answer them halfway intelligently. If you haven’t joined this or a similar writer’s organization you’re missing a lot.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Ozarks Writers League and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Attending Ozarks Writers League

  1. I had a really good time too, Velda 🙂 Like you, I came away with something new, yet again. The most exciting part, though is to get the chance to talk and otherwise interact with like-minded people (whether already familiar or not) in a relaxing, fun and altogether appropriate setting. I applaud Karen too for her organization of this event. She did a fantastic job!
    Thank you for taking me with you ❤

  2. Gee, Velda, from whom do you think I learned to critique? You and Dusty have given so much to OWL and to so many new writers. Now that I’ve had a few books published myself, I think of you every single time a newer writer asks for my advice or help. Your apprentices are playing it forward. Just like you.

  3. rgayer55 says:

    I had a good time too and always enjoy meeting new writers and rekindling friendships with those I only get to see on an annual basis.

Leave a Reply

