Birds Tweet, Why Should I?

Tweeters everywhere

Tweeters everywhere

More and more often I hear people say they don’t use Twitter because they can’t say what they want to say in 140 characters. What these folks don’t understand is that all you need to do is intrigue the reader enough to click on a link which you provide. There they can read all you wanted to say. Be it information about favorite movies, books, sports events or simply sending them to read a blog filled with information. Or you can link them to an interesting article you found online.

The way you tell them what sort of information they will find is by using hashtags. Now what in the world good could a hashtag do? It can do lots of things. Ever watch the news in the morning and they say something is trending using a certain hashtag. Everyone who wanted to post something on this particular subject, maybe a breaking news story, uses that hashtag provided on the news story. Then you and everyone who wants to exchange viewpoints on that subject can go into Twitter, and using that hashtag find everything posted on the

Sharing knowledge

Sharing knowledge

subject.

I am not posting this as an authority on using Twitter. I’m not. I’m just beginning to use it and understand the value. As an author, since I became active there, my sales have picked up quite well. And while on that subject, I do not use Twitter to promote my books every time I post. I share information, stuff readers might appreciate knowing, and once a week I share something about one of my books. I still don’t know how to hunt for specific hashtags, but that’s on my list of something to learn.

And you know what? Having something new to learn on your list every day keeps you educated, keeps you up with world events, local events, things that are happening to specific people you are interested in, and best of all keeps you young. There is so much in this world anymore, without social media a lot of important news slips through the cracks. News stations no longer cover anywhere near what we all want to know. But you can count on someone out there to have read something new, interesting, different, scary, fun, etc., and then they share it on social media.

So unless you want to be the one everyone thinks lives under a rock, open yourself up to new experiences. Be a wise old bird. Twitter should definitely be one of your daily encounters. Limit your time there just as you do on Facebook or games or anything else.

Wise old bird

Wise old bird

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Twitter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Birds Tweet, Why Should I?

  1. Hi Velda,
    I’m also new to Twitter and trying hard to learn ho to use it. Thanks for your insight…and great photos.

  2. rgayer55 says:

    For some reason I was expecting an owl on that last photo. Maybe I can find a Dodo for mine đŸ™‚ I’ve got a friend in IS a Tyson who said he’d give me a crash course. I guess I need to crawl out from under my rock and get with it.

  3. A good idea, Russell. An owl was to be expected and I never do that…do I?

  4. Lori Ericson says:

    I like the Dodo too. Using it was so Velda! LOL! This is great advice. I’m trying to learn about hashtags too. Twitter stumps me a little, but I’m pressing on. I do a lot of RTs.

  5. Jo Kyle says:

    Loved the parrots sharing info. It looks like they are in
    a very serious conversation

  6. What is it they say today? Lori gets me. Thanks for the comments.

Leave a Reply

