You Want Me To Do What?

stack of books

Attend a ribbon cutting at Habitat for Humanity ReStore. Why would I do that? Because it’s for a company like no other I’ve ever been associated with. They wanted me and their other authors to be there when they officially cut the ribbon for Oghma Creative Media, a Promotional and Publishing House. Right here in Fayetteville, Arkansas, where there are so many authors you can’t stir ‘em with a stick, as my grandma used to say.

Several months ago I signed with these guys, having no idea what I was getting in to, but impressed by the pure energy exuded by Casey Cowan, its founder, who along with Patty Stith came up with the novel idea of promoting authors, artists, musicians, and artistbusinesses. And by golly, it was working.So I decided to try them out. I signed for promotion of a three book series I had on Kindle, something from my backlist. Known as the Montana Series—yeah, I know, that’s not very creative—the three books had slacked off from earlier booming sales and were clumping along with sales of five to ten books each month.musicians

I’d see what they could do for me to improve those sales. Immediately, Casey began to promote not only the Montana series, but what was more important, me as a writer and my work on the whole. Things rocked along. Casey said Tweet these subjects five times a week and so I did. Only one of them had anything to do with my books. The rest were information, entertainment, socializing. I continued to blog and Tweet and hit the social media route online, and there I would see stuff about me and my work, posted by the people at Oghma Creative Media.

Then the unbelievable happened. Casey decided if they could promote writers, why not publish them as well. He went to work learning the ropes. If you know him, you know he doesn’t mess around. He gets right to the core and it wasn’t long before he’d contracted M.G. Miller for a reprint of his incredibly fabulous book, Bayou Jesus, and Pamela Foster for Noisy Creek, her poignant story of aging gracefully in a small southern town. Then he asked me if I didn’t have a book. I said, sure, I’ve got several, but I was “fixin” —that’s Arkie for preparing—to put them on Kindle. “Let us see one of them,” he and Greg said in unison. So I did and the rest is history.

Beyond the Moon, the book of my heart and soul, will be released September 30 from Oghma Creative Media’s Foyle Press in Ebook, Hard cover and paperback, and I couldn’t be more excited. If you were at the ribbon cutting you know that Casey announced that Oghma is nominating Beyond the Moon for a Pulitzer Prize in Literature, which has me “beyond the moon.” Even more so than when I got the New York call back in 1993 that started all of this insanity.ny skylineOh, by the way, I’ve signed for two other books that will be out next year. The second of The Twist of Poe Series, The Telltale Stone, in April 2015 and a little evil thing I call A Savage Grace, scheduled for a Halloween release in 2015. You’ll be surprised that such a wicked story could come out of my sweet little self. Oh, and my cookbook will be re-released sometime during all this excitement. There’s talk of more, but why go on?

Casey is brilliant, Greg is a top notch editor, Staci and Jess and all the others who have a part in building this new business are super hard workers, always ready to lend a hand to any one of this stable of authors that is growing by leaps and bounds.

When Casey looks at me now and says, “I need you to …” I don’t hesitate, not any more.

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in promotion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Want Me To Do What?

  1. Spectacular news, Velda! Doing the limping happy dance for you and the nomination for the Pulitzer to come true! Congrats on your many successes. I look forward to Beyond the Moom.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Arletta and thanks for the good wishes. Just being nominated is a crowning glory to my career.

  3. Cathy Koch says:

    I am so happy for you Velda! Looking forward to reading Beyond the Moon. The cover is beautiful!

    • Cathy, thanks for the comment. As of today, Wednesday, it’s available for preorder on Ebooks for a discounted price of $2.99 until the official release date of Sept. 30. It’s so beautiful, we all agree on the cover. Kudos to Casey Cowan.

Leave a Reply

