Stuff you never knew about ….

stack of booksReading and Writing are what I do best, but here are random facts about my life from a posting in July, 2007. What is in bold was added today.

1. From the deck of our house we see a creek named Sinclair and pronounced Sinkler, and the Boston Mountains.

2. I have no formal education beyond 12th grade, yet I have at one time or another been city editor, features writer and editor of three newspapers.

3. When we were building our home in the Ozarks we lived in a converted chicken house and bathed in the cold waters of Sinkler Creek, women first, then men.

4. I wrote three novels on a Sears electric typewriter before acquiring a computer which was actually nothing more than a word processor with a six by six inch screen.

5. None of those novels were ever published, but I’m reworking the first one, Beyond The Moon, which I finished in 1986. This book was published this month by Oghma Creative Media and is now available.

6. I met my husband when I was 14. We were high school sweethearts, and I only dated two other boys before marrying him 3 years later.

7. The Ozark National Forest is our next door neighbor and occasionally a black bear visits us.

8. I cannot think of another thing I would like to do if I could no longer write.

  1. When it comes to writing, I’m not sure what I enjoy the most: Western historical: watch for Rowena’s Hellion Oct. 24; mysteries: look for A Telltale Stone, the second in the Twist of Poe series, in April, 2015; or mainstream love stories: see Once there were Sad Songs and Beyond the Moon. Coming up is a horror, A Savage Grace, that will be released for Halloween in 2015.
  2. My favorite flower is the fragrant lilac, I enjoy movies in my spare time.

I was 71 when I wrote the above eight facts. Today I added nine and ten. Now that you’ve read a blog entirely about me, don’t you wish I’d write something about you? Well, I will. If you would like to have a post featured here, please let me know and we’ll get together on your ten favorite things. Write me at vebrotherton at gmail dot com.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Writers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stuff you never knew about ….

  1. Lori Ericson says:

    There were some surprises here, and I’ve known you for 20-plus years!

  2. cjfosdick says:

    Velda, you are such an interesting woman! And such a good and prolific writer! You were kind to give me some input about TWRP when I signed aboard recently. I just saw your new novel cover of Rowena’s Hellion and I wondered who your cover artist was and does she have a website or some examples of her work. I don’t know how it all works, but the Press wants my ideas for a cover and I know more of what I DON’T want than what I do==so far.

    Cj Fosdick
    Falorac@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

