Glorious Action and Paltry Decorum

Find Joy in all things

Find Joy in all things

These words I stole from Sir Walter Scott, who said; “One hour of life crowded to the full with glorious action and filled with noble risks is worth whole years of those mean observances of paltry decorum.”

Granted, no one would want their life to boil down to one hour, but clearly he’s saying much more than something about only living for an hour. I believe he’s telling us to fill each hour of our life with glorious action and noble risks. Not be a sourpuss, an angry old bear, a pessimistic grouch, a cynical nag, or the very worst a murderous monster.

See a world of beauty

See a world of beauty

We all know people like that and we see how their lives are stuck in a morass of unhappiness, loneliness, and despair.  The worst part is, we ourselves can so easily fall victim to a life of paltry decorum.

When the world looks dark and dreary

When the world looks dark and dreary

It’s not really my thing to lecture or attempt inspiration, but I was going through some quotes and found this one. It brought to mind the differences in some people I know. Those who have good words to say no matter what, who attempt to uplift the spirits of friends opposed to those who are always complaining about something or other and blaming others for their troubles.

I know folks who have depression suffer from many of these ailments, and clearly need more than inspiration. As our new year rolls along toward another rebirth of spring  we need to hitch up our britches and be kind, compassionate, lovable, laughable and … oh, I’m going to interrupt myself here, cause I just thought of another quote I’m going to have to paraphrase ’cause I’m not sure of its exact wording.

Here it is: Without compassion and love the world would be an evil place. Who said that? I can’t remember. I think it was Stephen Hawking, a man who certainly could have curled up into a tiny ball and let the world pass him by. Instead, he used his brilliant mind, no doubt the keenest mind in our world today, to learn and teach and inspire.

So here’s hoping you all have a terrific start to 2015 with an uplifted heart.

Happy New Year

Happy New Year

 

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glorious Action and Paltry Decorum

  1. Great article. Really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

