Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

Describe in words

Describe in words

 

Most writers don’t want to hear that nonsense. We like to believe that our words are so clever that we can outdo any picture in capturing the attention of a reading audience. Well, yes, our books must sing in such a way that our readers see pictures in their minds, but when it comes to capturing their attention first, it takes something more visual than words.

Where can we put these pictures? Of course, there’s Facebook, where it is said that posts accompanied by a picture are liked, shared and seen more than those with just words. Then there’s Instagram, which I haven’t taken a liking to yet because charts etc. frankly bore me. But the fastest growing site where pictures are the main source of attraction is Pinterest. No, I am not being paid for this. And it’s come to my attention that Ogmaniacs have not yet embraced this picture driven promotional site.

The main difference between Pinterest and Facebook, picture wise is that we as authors may have a business page, which means we can promote our work 24/7 without being penalized. Learning to put this exciting new promotional tool to work without letting it suck the devil out of your time is the secret, along with knowing how to utilize it to your best advantage.

The best way for you to see how this works is for you to tool around on Pinterest and see how others are using it. My Pinterest business boards are all slanted to interest those who might want to read my books. There are boards for all my books, sure, but then there are boards covering what I’ve read. My readers want to know these things about me. My hobbies, what kind of animals I love (this is a biggie), clothing I like, where I live, things I’d like to do that I haven’t yet done, sexy men because everyone loves that. Well, almost everyone. Photo of your cat

Now, let’s back up a bit and talk about the boards for my books. It isn’t enough to have a cover and the 500 character blurb and a purchase link. The Victorian board has photos of clothing, for instance, castles, anything I can think of to relate to the series. Beyond The Moon has a collection of moon photos I’ve pinned from various posts, there are all sorts of photos of the Vietnam War and veterans, pictures of both the hero and heroine, or how my mind imagines them, etc.

sexy cowboy

Because I only changed over to a business site recently, it is still a work in progress. Shop around for other business sites by searching on the Pinterest page for specific subjects and seeing how these businesses are promoting online.

Keep in mind, you may be a writer first, but you also run a small business that needs to sell its product to make good. Have fun with the site, think of some kinky things to do to attract attention to your work and get busy.  There are other boards that will invite you to have a board on their site. Oghma Creative Media is one, but you have to have your own boards first. This muscular cowboy attracts a lot of attention posted on my board “Heroes to Die For.” He gets my readers excited about what I write.

Caveat: Don’t spend too much time shopping around yourself. Go there maybe once or twice a week to pin something new, or pin something when it pops up somewhere and you know you can use it. No copyright infringements, please. Ask permission if its posted on someone’s FB page, blog, etc. The rest of the time remember, public figures are all fair game. So are images you purchase for use. Otherwise, be careful. And pin from other Pinterest boards a lot to get a larger collection.

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in a writer's life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

  1. Terrific insight here, Velda. I’m a fan of Pinterest as well, and have blogged about making our posts more “pinnable.” 🙂 I love your points about having fun with it, maintaining professionalism and avoiding getting sucked into a black hole of distraction. Off to follow you!

  2. I didn’t like Pinterest much at first. But now I find it very useful, and I get a lot of visits to my site that came from Pinterest so I know others also use it. Love the cowboy pic, too, Velda… very distracting!

  3. Staci Troilo says:

    You know how I love Pinterest, Velda. Timely post; authors don’t use it nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

