April in the Ozarks

I can’t help sharing this poem and photo with all my followers on this lovely Ozarks morning.

Freeda Baker Nichols

When it’s April in the Ozarks
and the birds are on the wing,
when the showers falling gently
cause the meadowlark to sing.
The bird of blue fights the sparrow
and wins the honor to nest
inside the little house of wood
with its doorway facing west.
When it’s April in the Ozarks
and it’s time to welcome spring,
in a garden filled with flowers
there’s a bluebird who is king.

© 2015 Freeda Baker Nichols

bluebird

View original post

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April in the Ozarks

  1. Velda,
    A lovely poem and picture. I recently spent time at the Sacramento National Wildlife Refuge…loved seeing the various birds up close and personal. I have Bluebirds of Happiness from the Studio/Glassworks near you to remind me of trips to your lovely area.
    Here’s to spring!
    Arletta

Leave a Reply

