Why Follow That Path

lonely path

Back in 1985 I was asked to write a column for three local weekly newspapers. The subject would be local Ozark crafts people. There was no particular reason I was asked. I think they couldn’t find anyone else. Nevertheless, I went to work not having much of an idea what I was doing. I learned how they got started creating their crafts, what they had learned over the years. How it made them feel to create something so beautiful or intricate or artistic that someone would fall in love with their product and actually pay money for it. And then I wrote a column about what I had learned.stack of books

Every artist has a story about how they started down the particular path they follow. Odd that in learning these artists and crafts people’s story, my own began. Oh, I had piddled around writing over the years, but always put it aside for something more pressing. Like life. For several years I wrote these wonderful creative people’s stories, never realizing I was beginning to follow my own path.

From this beginning my clips caught the attention of several newspaper editors. Eventually I wrote features for the Northwest Arkansas Times, then was hired by The Washington County Observer’s owner, Parker Rushing. He wanted me to write features and news stories and I did. For nine years, through several owners and editors I stayed with the paper.

My path had been clearly laid out by then and writing would become a way of life for me. Twenty-six books later (the 26th came out September 8) my fingers still caress a keyboard every day. Of the six non-fiction books, I guess I like The Boston Mountains: Lost in the Ozarks about the best, though Fly With the Mourning Dove, a finalist in the WILLA Literary awards, is a close second. As for fiction, it’s difficult to pick a favorite, so I won’t.

music notes

Have you ever thought seriously about what particular time in your life started you on your path, whatever it might be? We all are driven to leave something behind, lovely words, beautiful paintings, exquisite creations of some sort so we will be remembered. Long before we wrote on stone tablets and built enormous statues, cavemen scrawled their history on the walls of their homes. Showing and telling how they lived.artist

Humans all have that spark inside that urges them to make something lasting. Why not share your story here in the comments. What do you wish to leave behind and why? What first urged you to go in that direction?

carving

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Follow That Path

  1. Writing has been my interest since early childhood when I created my first poem. I grew up, married, became mom to four children, and life happened. A wonderful life with husband and kids. When the youngest kid started to school, I turned onto the path toward writing. It’s an adventure that only grows more exciting with each new creation, each publication. I’m now the author of “Call of the Cadron” a novel, and poetry and children’s books. I’m a blogger, and a columnist for a weekly local newspaper where at the editor’s suggestion, I publish my fiction in a series. I love that my desire to write has guided me onto this pathway–it must have been my destiny!

  2. Staci Troilo says:

    I’ve always been a writer. I told stories to my toys before I could write. I wrote stories and poems in school. Got both my BA and MA in writing at college. Wrote for corporate America before quitting to raise my kids (when I freelanced). A little later I taught writing at college. It was only a matter of time until I circled back around to writing stories again. The calling is just as strong as it ever was, but I think the work is a little better now. 🙂

  3. Thanks Staci for reading and commenting. You are definitely a fantastic writer.

  4. Sorchia D says:

    Reblogged this on Oghma Creative Media and commented:
    Oghma Author, Velda Brotherton, Asks ‘Why’ in her Latest Blog Post

Leave a Reply

