I Believe in Angels

angels

Saturday we came together to celebrate the life of my late husband, Donald. He asked that we not hold a funeral and grieve, but rather have a party so he could enjoy it as well. So thanks to Linda Apple and our daughter Jeri Henson, that’s what we did. So many friends and family gathered that I know he had a good time, as did we all.

I told everyone there that I would soon post a blog telling why I now firmly believe in angels. When I cleaned out one of the file boxes to make room for some smaller side tables, I found a note folded in fourths and stuck in the back of the top drawer. The creases were old, not recent. I opened it and found the following: Clue-he always called me Kitten, Pete’s place is where he lived when we first met, and he never ever wrote or spoke like this note flows:

Dear Kitten, Loving you, sorry I had to leave you behind. But I will be waiting at Petes place. We will all be there, to see you come dancing thru the morning dew, sun shining ——-hang on, I will get it right —–thru your golden hair.

I will be waiting for you love,    Loving you  Don

The reason this made me believe in angels is that I was throwing old pieces of paper away out of that drawer but something told me to open this one. It was stained and scrappy looking. But he sent it to me via the angels and I will always believe this. Heaven only knows when he wrote this and put it there or what caused him to write it. I don’t care. All I know is that he managed to speak to me through the angels after he left.

Do you believe in angels? Why or why not?

 

About veldabrotherton

I'm primarily a writer, but I also speak and teach workshops and co-chair a large critique group. My brand is SexyDarkGritty and that applies to my western historical romances, mysteries, women's fiction and horror novels. After almost 30 years in this business, I still have something to learn and attend conferences to network with other writers, publishers, editors and agents.
This entry was posted in angels, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Believe in Angels

  1. Staci Troilo says:

    I hate it when posts make me cry. Darn it, Velda. So touching.

    I’m wondering if it’s a generational thing? My grandfather left a note for my grandmother. And Corey’s grandfather left a note for his grandmother. It’s comforting to know that you (and they) will always have those last words, those last–wonderful–images to cling to.

    Hell, yes, I believe in angels. And I’m so very grateful for them.

    • Thanks for telling me about your experiences with this kind of thing. I sat in my chair for so long just staring at it. What an odd feeling. Then the tears began to flow and my daughter came over and found me crying. I’ve tried not to cry in front of her because she has been so upset and so strong.

  2. Pat Kelley says:

    Wonderful story, Velda. So sorry for your loss. Pat Kelley

  3. Chrissy says:

    Yes, mom, I believe. I know others do too. The group “Alabama” even wrote a song about it a long time ago. “I believe there are angels among us, sent down to us from somewhere up above. They come to you & me in our darkest hour, To show us how to live, to teach us how to give
    To guide us with the light of love.” That song made me cry more times than I care to admit.

    Don’t hold back to show your feelings for Sissy’s sake. She needs to let it all out, too. It would be good for the both of you. Being strong is a noble thing, but it can also tear us up inside. Some people (like me) are strong while they have to be, to hold everyone else together, but who is there for them when they have a meltdown? You need to be there for each other. God knows, you’ve been there for me.
    I will miss Papa Bear, more than anyone will ever realize, but I know that as much as my heart is breaking, yours & Jeri’s are breaking a hundred times more. So I’ll be there for you & Jeri as you need me. Love you always!

  4. I read this post three times…just to get it right. Wonderful story, which I know is true. I read your blog every time it comes out. Wish we had more time together. Sounds like you are a wonderful writer. Tell it like it is!
    JMC

  5. OneRiding1 says:

    Ah, a beautiful story of your love and life and time together. Yes, gotta believe in angels of all shapes and forms.

  6. Oh, Velda. Thank you so much for sharing this experience! You know what a practical person I am, but it just isn’t logical to deny that creased and dust covered note was from your Don. I believe that, at death, God’s awesome love pours into us and burns away all the crap — all the fear and orneriness and selfishness we accumulate over our lifetime. Don found a way back to you to say he loved you one more time. What a precious gift.

    • Yes, it was a precious gift. I felt he was so upset with me for putting him where he was, but this note took away much of my guilt, told me how he felt about me in a way nothing else could have. I hope he knew the same about how I felt. Thanks for your touching reply. It was definitely in his handwriting, so there’s no doubt, but how could he know he would be gone and leave me here? It’s baffling, but I knew at that moment that an angel was responsible. How I’m not sure, I just did.

  7. bethtrissel says:

    What a beautiful story, Velda. I’m definitely teary. I’ll never forget this. Yes, I believe too. Thanks.

  8. Claudia says:

    What a totally beautiful piece to read today!!! I am so glad for you. My good friend, who died this summer, always told me that the angels were closest to the earth in December. I believe she was correct. Thank you for sharing this…..

Leave a Reply

